We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
329
107
24
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
107
24
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king suite boutique hotel urban beach apple tv small plates scones oats great boutique no elevator my husband and i within walking distance top floor the main hotel the cliff would definitely stay here again small hotel rain shower
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We are frequent visitors to Newport and we are fans of the Lark Hotel Group so when we needed to make a quick last minute trip to Newport I knew that I wanted to stay at The Attwater. On a previous trip we had stayed at The Gilded, another Lark Hotel and we were very happy there and The Attwater was even more highly rated so I wanted to see for myself. Although our stay was less than 24 hours, we enjoyed it very much. Check in was easy and Peter was very engaging. Our room on the third floor (no elevator, not a problem for us) was spacious and decorated in the usual Lark whimsical way. There are common rooms on every floor that made us wish we had more time to linger and enjoy a glass of wine with friends. It is conveniently located to everything that is best about Newport as a destination. The bathroom was well appointed and the shower was incredibly relaxing. Breakfast the next morning was the usual tasty delicacies that are a hallmark of all the Lark Hotels that we have stayed in. We were very happy with our stay and agreed that it just seemed like a bit of a step up from the other hotel. We are looking forward to a future stay, soon we hope!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uzubuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Amazing location in the middle of Newport, yet on a quiet street. We walked to all the restaurants, shops, and harbor area. It's like a B&B in a historic house, but with updated designs. Very friendly staff. We skipped the breakfast snacks to sleep in and go have brunch downtown.

Room tip: Get a suite, they are very spacious
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNewsxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

My son and I stayed for one night, and I wish we stayed for two! The staff was friendly, especially Peter who was there when we checked in. We were upgraded to a suite, which was fantastic. The place itself was clean and inviting; the room was equally so with a fireplace and plenty of space. Breakfast was amazing!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zucurci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We wish you had stayed with us longer too but we're so glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with your son! So glad you found our staff to be friendly, enjoyed the large suite and its fireplace, as well as the amazing breakfast. You'll have to visit us again soon for another getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My wife and I planned a last-minute trip to Newport and The Attwater was the perfect pick for lodging. The Attwater is a mix between a bed and breakfast and a hotel which offered the right balance between solitude and service. We arrived a bit early and dropped offer our luggage. When we returned from sightseeing we found our luggage was already brought to our room on the third floor which was much appreciated. We stayed in a King Suite and the room was spacious and included a separate siting area with a gas fireplace. This setup is always great in case one person wants to take a nap after a long day of visiting mansions and the other wants to lounge in front of the television. Our room was spotless and furnished nicely with bright colors. I would say my only two suggestions would be another outlet/extension cord so both night stands have a plug for phones and perhaps a small light in the coffee area in the front room. We both enjoyed breakfast and being able to choose among a number of the small-plate options. The first morning, the front-desk even offered to make us eggs since there wasn't an egg-option among the small plates. There is a small gym in the second building on the property which is accessed through a door near the back-parking lot. The gym was good for some cardio and a light workout but serious gym goers will have to look elsewhere or simply visit three more mansions. We would definitely stay at The Attwater again or maybe try their sister property the Gilded.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlbanyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thrilled that you found your stay in Newport to have the perfect balance of service and solitude and we're so glad that you chose to stay with us! It's great that our King Suite was suitable for your trip and we appreciate the small suggestions that might make for a better stay. Happy that you enjoyed our tasty small plates breakfast and it's wonderful to hear that we'll be seeing you back in Newport --hopefully sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We stayed for one night in the King suite to celebrate my birthday. The room was beautifully decorated, super clean and very comfortable. John was so helpful in telling about great local spots for beach exploring.

We love staying in Lark Hotels for the beautiful decor and boutique hotel experience we have grown to love. We look forward to returning to Newport and the Attwater for a longer stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews