We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Three Sisters”
other travellers have booked this property
Custom built with impressive views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Custom built with impressive views
Three Sister's View cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Custom built with impressive views
Three Sister's View cabin
Enjoy quality and mountain-top privacy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Courtney...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three Sisters”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Overall, the rental experience was good. We stayed 4 nights, enjoyed the views and seclusion the house afforded. The house location was terrific (close to a Shenandoah park entrance and Skyline Drive) and the owners were easily accessible by phone and very responsive.
There were issues with the heating all but one night of our stay. Temperatures were in the 30's so it was a bit chilly without heat in the middle of the night. The owners were quick to fix the heating issue each time but it was an unfortunate situation.
The hot tub was very clean and in great working order.
We used the fireplace inside everynight which was great. Suggest adding a fireplace shovel for removing ashes.
The house was very charming and we enjoyed talking with the owners about its history.

A few things to note about the house that aren't apparent from the photos or internet description :
The first floor bedroom has a door and a bathroom attached. The first floor bathroom has a large jetted tub but the shower feature is not condusive to showering. There isn't a shower curtain and the aging shower head didn't provide a steady stream and resulted in splattered water all over so we chose not to use this bathroom for showering.
There are 2 bedrooms on the second floor loft area which is open to the main floor. The bedrooms in the loft area are separated from each other by a small set of stairs and a half-wall. There is a bathroom on the second floor. This shower had an updated shower head which was much better to use than the other bathroom. Bathrooms can only be accessed through bedrooms which was a little inconvenient in the evening and early morning when others were sleeping.
There was no internet connectivity which was ok with us but it was a surprise upon arrival.

I definitly recommend this rental to others. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott F
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent stay--Valley View cabin”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our family spent three nights in the Valley View cabin in early October. We had an excellent time and enjoyed the decent kitchen, outdoor fireplace, and spacious porch with mountain views. It seems secluded, which was nice. But it's also just minutes from Luray--good restaurants, roadside barbeque, and the excellent Hawksbill Brewing Company--in one direction and a Shenandoah National Park entrance in the other. The owners are kind and friendly. We had a quasi-flat tire and Tom offered to let us use his air pump to fill it...much appreciated.

We hope to come back next year...thanks so much, Tom and family...it was a blast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsmith796
Lothian, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No response”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

DO Not booked this if you have pets
Booked thinking it was pet friendly like advertised
Got confirmation that says no pets
Do not give me a full refund. Owners will not respond

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
We were very pleased that you came and stayed with us. The nicest issue about our business is that we get an opportunity of meeting our guests personally, you will be always welcomed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyphers
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Shenandoah Getaway”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great time staying at the Appalachian Adventures cabin over the weekend. The staff there were friendly and corresponded by email to arrange the reservation, and arrange for firewood ahead of time. We booked the "Three Sisters" cabin. When we got there, the cabin was nice. It was large and secluded, on a hill overlooking the mountains. It had a hot tub, fire place (which we didn't use because the weather was so hot), an outdoor fire pit and picnic tables. The cabin has three bedrooms, but extra cots if your number of guests exceeds this. Two of the bedrooms have double/queen sized beds and one has two single beds. The two upstairs bedrooms are connected by a staircase with no door in between. Only one bedroom has a door that offers complete privacy.
A few notes about booking with AppAdv: The cabins are up the road from the "secondary office" which is where you'll have to pick up your key if you arrive outside their regular hours. They will charge you for a late arrival. They won't tell you the address of the cabin until you get there, because it's up the road from their office, which was somewhat inconvenient if members of your group are arriving separately. We had limited cell reception at the top of the mountain, but managed to get all of our crew there with the directions on AppAdv website and by using landmarks. Use the "Halo Furniture Store" as a landmark for where to turn onto the property.
Firewood is expensive. Two nights of firewood cost us $60. Decide how many people are in your party at the time you make the booking. If that number changes at all, they'll still stick with that number when you finally pay. We booked for 9 and then ended up being 7 people. No discount for that change. The cabin overall was nice. It has high ceilings, a TV, a stereo, couches and a large dining room table. It had a kitchen with a working fridge, microwave, electric stove, an outdoor grill, and there was enough charcoal left over from a previous tenant for us to do our grilling. The hot tub was nice after we got caught in the rain. Don't forget to bring your own sheets and towels, because the property doesn't provide these items.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing