We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty retreat in the woods”
Large roomy house in the Blue Ridge mountains with ridiculous views of Skyline Drive behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large roomy house in the Blue Ridge mountains with ridiculous views of Skyline Drive behind
Large open floor plan around kitchen and dining area Living room with flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Large roomy house in the Blue Ridge mountains with ridiculous views of Skyline Drive behind
Large open floor plan around kitchen and dining area
Living room with flat screen TV
Master bedroom with great lighting, private deck and TV
Extra twin bunkbed sleeping area in master bedroom
Master bath with large tub and shower
2nd private bedroom with queen and bunkbed
Bunk room with spacious (full size) bunk beds
More bunk room beds
Additional bunk room, great for small groups
Full bathroom next to bunk rooms
Third full bathroom attached to private bedroom
Spacious modern hot tub that can fit 6-8 with beautiful views of the mountains behind
Game room!  Pool, air hockey, ping pong!
Playground for the kids
Campfire and picnic area
Unlimited dried/stacked firewood nearby (firewood fee is $10/night, added to every booking)
Another game room for card games adjacent to living and dining rooms
Large laundry area
The second/backup kitchen and laundry area downstairs
Sit and have your morning coffee looking at this view
Spectacular views off back decks and yard
Total seclusion and privacy on top of a mountain (this picture was taken by drone)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaryBeth...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not exactly what I was expecting...”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Pros - The yard is bigger than the photos show. The entire space both inside and outside has an abundance of space. The upstairs living room has an extensive movie collection to use. The location is secluded and private. This would be a great location for something like a church youth group retreat.

Cons - Unfortunately, the weather was rainy while we were at Sunridge so we didn't get to enjoy the views or the outside, including the firepit that we were required to pay for firewood for. The reservation information was clear about the firewood fee but it was still annoying considering we didn't get to use any of it and we had concerns/needed repairs that weren't addressed when we were there. If you have young children or elderly traveling with you, be aware there is a large open stairway to the downstairs which is right in the middle of the living room. There is no handrail on the top section of it and no gate. The home is extremely outdated and in need of upgrades. The deck areas are very small and lacking seating. If you are sensitive to smells, there are a lot of air fresheners left out and definitely a smell of moisture. There are lots of games and toys in the sunroom but they are very disorganized, dirty and many are missing pieces. The hot tub is crammed into a very small add-on deck off the master bedroom. When we were there, there was no filter cover on it and not all of the buttons worked. The door to the deck is also positioned right beside a bedside table making entry and exit difficult, thus letting in too many of the abundance of bugs from outside. The doors are also very tight and stick. The refrigerator leaked and from the guest book entries, this is not a new problem. Be aware that the sunken master bath is just a tub. The jets are disabled. The downstairs tub also has no drain plug, so can only be used as a shower. I was not expecting the hand-me down, yard sale find array of linens to use. We only had the posted checkout instructions to follow (the email that was sent the day before check-out was not received because we were on vacation and not checking email). You will be expected to strip all of the beds that you used and make piles of the linens on the beds. You will also have to take all of your trash off site (to a facility on the other side of Luray <not nearby>) or pay $5 per bag to leave it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2018
This guest unfortunately is making a mountain out of a number of mole holes. Very small/trivial things that seem to have bothered her a lot more than others. Some of what she said is true about door and stairway positions and such, but the house and property are lovely for vacationing and get-togethers. We provide detailed directions about where to take the trash nearby. We don't want anyone to pay $5/bag but we post that so that there is an incentive to be responsible with trash and not leave large piles of it. Guest are NOT expected to strip beds - we merely suggest that if they are looking for ways to help the housekeeping team before departure. The hot tub is not crammed in anywhere. On the contrary, it is sunken down into the deck for easy entry. You can walk right off the deck into the tub. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and detail. This guest did not mention a single thing during their stay. If there were repairs needed, we would have come right over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pretty retreat in the woods”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our group had a beautiful stay in this house it the woods. It was a pretty drive from DC and we enjoyed the town of Luray as well as hiking in Shenandoah. There were more beds than we needed (not a bad problem) and the house was equipped for larger groups. Definitely be mindful if driving there for the first time at night - the last part of the trip is tricky to navigate in the dark.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2017
Rosie, thanks for telling others, and thanks for coming out! You were a pleasure to work with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden A
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Retreat”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My friends and I who live in DC have been renting a house for the last several years as a fall weekend getaway. As our families have gotten bigger its been harder to find a place that meets all our needs. I think we found a keeper in the sunridge retreat. It fit 8 adults and 7 kids no problem. The master suite is especially nice with an on suite bathroom. The kitchen and living room areas are spacious and large. There is even a bonus game room with ping pong, air hockey and foosball. Outside there is a nice playground area and fire pit and there is a jacuzzi on the back deck. I really could not ask for much more. A few minor inconveniences were a large number of stink bugs, some higher grade pots and pans, and maybe a few more ktichen suppliers. Otherwise it fit our needs perfectly. We will likely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Hayden, that's wonderful! Thank you for the spreading the word
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia A
1 review
“Large family friendly home”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The view from the house and surrounding areas is spectacular. The house is large and can sleep 20+ people with a lot of room to spread out. There were toys for the kids and our little ones loved the swing set. If you do have little ones bring a baby gate because we ended up blocking off the stairs with chairs to prevent accidental tumbles. The furniture and decor are a bit outdated but it didn't stop us from having a good time. Very secluded home in the woods with private gravel roads leading in. We saw a bear on our first day but it kept its distance. Also saw lots of birds, bunnies and tons of stink bugs. We had an issue the first day with the hot tub and they send someone right over. We would definitely rent this house again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Felicia, thanks for the feedback. That's awesome that you guys got to see a bear! What a wonderful experience for the kids! We'll see you next time. Oh - any thing we could have done better to get that 5th star off you?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
1 review
“Great Space!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This place was amazing! We had a pretty big group (around 16 people) and there was plenty of space for all of us to have our own beds, but there was also enough common space for all of us to be together when we wanted to (we could all have meals together which was nice). The views are incredible from the back porches and the hot tub and the fire pit are really nice additions. I would definitely recommend this place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Sarah, thanks for coming out! You guys were great! Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing