We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable cottage in a wonderful location...”
1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
theatre style recliners in living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
theatre style recliners in living room
Fully equipped kitchen
view of Shenandoah River across a secondary roadway from cabin
Laguna Bay Spa for 6...waterfall with lights at 1947 Rock Tavern Retreat
view of Kennedy Peak's from side deck of our cabin...hiking trail in G W National Forest ---8 min
waterfront acess at our #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp - walking distance from cabin
back deck
Electric fireplace in Master Bedroom
deck at River Kamp that is walking distance from cabin
back deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ashbybird...
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable cottage in a wonderful location...”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our party of 4 adults stayed for 4 nights at the end of September. The cottage is spacious and has all the fittings/utensils etc that you could need. Outside on the rear decking there is plenty of covered sitting space with a hot tub and large gas bbq - we spent ages out there...
The cottage is just across a quiet road from the Shenandoah River which is great if you want to fish, paddle, canoe etc. and is only about 10 minutes from the centre of Luray with it's shops and visitor attractions. It is also ideally situated for walking - one of our main leisure interests with marked trails virtually all around you.
If you like the peace and quite tied together with being outdoors then this place is for you.
We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - wonderful!
Liked least: Nothing really...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We do hope to see you again in the future!
Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. It is greatly appreciated.
Annette Cates
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yvette121...
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cabin for a family getaway!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our 3 children 4,5, &10 and our dog, absolutely loved our stay in Rock Tavern. The cabin was completely stocked with everything and was immaculately clean. All we had to do was walk in and start relaxing. The back deck is awesome and the kids and dog loved exploring the 10 acres of land. I would recommend this cabin to anyone with or without kids. The area is quiet, peaceful, and has great views of the river and mountains. We all loved it here and will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience.
Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather24...
Perth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy this spectacular cabin!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently stayed at the "ROCK TAVERN RETREAT' cabin September 2013. The cabin is incredible with all the amenities that you could possibly need or want. Annette has thought of everything with spectacular thoughts to detail, comfort and needs. The cabin was spotless upon arrival. The backdeck is a wonderful, relaxing area with comfortable furniture along with fans and lights. The road access to the cabin is not an issue for any type of vehicle and plenty of parking. It is a 10 minute drive to the lovely town of Luray which had plenty of stores and restaurants. We visited the Tourism Bureau and they were extremely helpful and friendly, along with all maps we required. Our stay was to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary and to "ride" the Skyline Drive and tour thru the mountains and area on our motorcycle..spectacular views and rides. We will definitely be calling Annette again when returning to the area. Thank you for an amazing week!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire rental/vacation was spectacular.
Liked least: nothing...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2013
Wow 3oth anniversary!...Congrats!!! So glad you enjoyed yourselves! You deserve the best. Do hope to see you again.
Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay!
Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing