We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house) Spacious living room w/ fireplace and hi-def TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
82 reviews
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house)
Spacious living room w/ fireplace and hi-def TV
Tournament size pool table in game room
Beautiful king master bedroom with armoire & HDTV
Large hot tub with 40 jets
Full kitchen including dishwasher
Tournament size ping pong & foosball tables
Huge campfire pit
2nd bedroom with queen and twin beds & HDTV
3rd bedroom with queen and twin bunks & HDTV
Fully laundry service
2 large canoes w/ oars and life jackets
Outdoor grill
Unlimited firewood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christy W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun Despite a Few Issues”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Good: The property was clean and well maintained (except the front of the house, which needs a power washing). There is a mini beach area at the river. Management responded promptly to questions/issues (although 1 was not remedied because of other priorities). Many deer/rabbit sightings.
The Caveats: Don’t just bring yourself and clothes… bring your toiletries and seasonings! Only hand soap was on site. The seasonings were very limited. No instructions for use of the grill (which has no propane tank-I was not familiar with this set up). Many deer/rabbit sightings (i.e., bring a leash for your dog).
The Less than Ideal: $50 per extra adult may be "standard" but seems a bit overboard for the amount of water and laundry each one required. Limited and broken seating near river. Living room furniture is not comfortable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
It's true that we don't provide toiletries or condiments - we don't claim that we do, because people are quite particular about what they want to use. Our pricing is clearly listed.

Regarding the furniture, it is made from rustic hewn logs. Many people love it, others don't; no accounting for taste! These guests would prefer Bear Timbers cabin next time, which has overstuffed club-style leather couches.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris R
Sammamish, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Bear Meadows with my family and we had a great time. We enjoyed the facilities and the location. There is a nice view of the mountains from the deck. The cabin was clean. We had 4 adults and three teens. There is one room with a king bed and then 2 rooms with 1 bunk bed each. The bottom bunk is a queen sized mattress. The cabin is close enough to skyline drive to enjoy hiking. The room with the pool table was quite hot during the day but the property manager did say they were going to put in a window air conditioner but that wouldn't happen until after I stay. We stayed pretty busy without those amenities but we would have enjoyed some play in there too. The foosball table is on the house so we played with that. Overall a great experience. We would stay longer next!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had all we needed and wanted
Liked least: Too hot in the "rec" room space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocZilly
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable way to see the Shenandoah area and keep teens entertained.”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Overall very nice and comfortable. Easy 20 min drive into Shenandoah Park. Lovely hot tub, long walk to river, and lots of movies to watch! Appreciated the wifi. Bring olive oil if you plan to cook at all since there is none in the house. Front storm door doesn't close right. Great that there are canoes, but river current was way too fast to actually consider canoeing, and anyway how would you ever get back since you can't row against that strong current? Maybe at times the current is more calm? I wish this had been made clear, along with a recommendation of where one would use the nicely provided bikes? Very pleasant stay for a group (we were 6). Enjoyed it and would return if in the area.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris2431
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A good cabin in a great location. Warm and welcoming. Spacious with two bathrooms one with a bath. Great garden leading down to the river. Plenty of wood for campfire. Would like to visit in a different season. Seating in lounge not particularly comfortable for relaxing. Needs more saucepans and cookware for smaller parties. This did not detract from a good stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden and river
Liked least: expensive for time of year
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMT1234
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Perfect weekend out in the Shenandoah Mountains”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was the second time my fiancee and I stayed at Bear Meadows and again we had a great time. The cabin was clean and stocked with sheets and towels. The hot tub was perfect and ready to go when we got there. The cabin location is perfect as it is very close to a large group of wineries in Front Royal to the north also close to the Luray Caverns to the south. Highly recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing