We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
219
192
46
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
192
46
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast basketrestaurant next doorgrindercoffee beanshomemade muffinspark entrancethe riversequoia national parkgateway restaurantcoffee makerground coffeeon the rocksdvd playerfantastic locationmorning coffeenice breakfastnice room
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We spent a night there on our visit to sequoia. It is right outside the park gate and set on the river. Perfect spot to sit and enjoy the view at the end of the day Our room was clean and had a little kitchen area with table microwave and coffee maker and coffee grinder with beans for you coffee lovers! Nice restaurant right next door so you don’t have to travel once you settle. It was perfect for us wish we could have stayed longer

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 526paulao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We stayed one night in Sequoia Dogwood Chalet as a group of four adults on our way to Sequoia National Park. The chalet was clean, basic and cozy with the outside BBQ an added advantage to cook our dinner when we arrived after dark.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rosie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We spent 2 nights here, one in a cabin and one in a hotel room. Both were very different and equally charming. The cabin was nicely outfitted and we enjoyed sitting on or small porch with a glass of wine. The hotel across the street offered a different setting, a basic but clean hotel room with the sound of the rushing river just outside. We sat outside on the lawn by the river's edge. The breakfast basket comes only to the hotel rooms, not the cabins. Both have fresh coffee beans and a grinder along with a coffee pot. When we pulled in, my husband took a look at the spartan setting of the hotel along the road and said "well, as long as it is clean." But now he raves about it to everyone. It was clean....but oh, so much more. There is next to no cell service but the WiFi works just fine. The location is 1/4 mile from the park entrance.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms have 2 doors, one facing the road and the other facing the river.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

The location of the Buckeye Tree Lodge is ideal: near the Sequoia NP entrance (15 minutes away) and an hour from the Forest of Giants. The buildings are older with comfortable beds and balconies overlooking the river. The staff was friendly and helpful with information about the best time to enter the park to minimize construction delays. Nice touches in the room included a basket with fruit, sodas, and muffins, as well as coffee beans and a grinder as well as a coffeemaker. The proximity of the Gateway Restaurant was another plus; no need to get in the car to go to dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyMacaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Had a very nice room along the river. Great access to Sequoia National Park. They provided a breakfast basket every morning.
Staff was super friendly and helpful.
We spent three nights, but our neighbors were different every night. Agreeing with other reviews - you need more than one night.

Room Tip: We had room 8. Rooms 8 and 10 seem to have a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lzclzhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews