We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Suitable Digs represents New Mexico, wide open...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bunk House at Suitable Digs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bunk House at Suitable Digs
The couch/twin bed in the Bunk House The bathroom at the Bunk House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Bunk House at Suitable Digs
The couch/twin bed in the Bunk House
The bathroom at the Bunk House
Exterior view of the Bunk House with private
outdoor patio
The front of Suitable Digs
Gardens and geodesic dome greenhouse
Olive tree greenhouse
small rock-lined swimming hole in the yard!
the swimming hole, artistically.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol E
Eliot, Maine
1 review
“Suitable Digs represents New Mexico, wide open spaces, off the beaten path but close to town”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

The moment you leave the pavement and head down the dirt road you know this is someplace special. My husband and I have stayed at Suitable Digs several times over the past few years and we are never disappointed. The environment and accommodations are excellent. We feel very much at home, visiting a friend. Lisa is a wonderful host always in tune with her guests needs. Staying at Suitable Digs is as much a part of our vacation as is the New Mexico experience. To me, Suitable Digs represents New Mexico, wide open spaces, off the beaten path but close to town. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else and have recommended it to several of my friends. If you stay here once, you'll come back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was the best
Liked least: I hated toleave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Carol, it is always a much-anticipated pleasure to have you and Bill stay at Suitable Digs. I so appreciate your kindest of words, and can't wait to see you both again later this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khootie
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet and green”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently stayed here for a weekend and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the bunkhouse, a separate cabin and our sister and brother-in-law stayed across the courtyard in the sunroom which is attached to the house. Lisa greeted us and showed us around her amazing property filled with gardens, plants and artworks. Loved the wind harp and there is an area with an outdoor communal table Her care of the property and devotion to sustainability is inspiring. The digs are about 10 minutes out of town down a dirt road, but totally worth returning to after a day of sightseeing in busy Santa Fe. Because of the dedication to sustainability, Lisa showed us around the lodging explaining everything and left a list of things to note (composting etc), which was easy to follow. We had a wonderful family visit here and only wish we had more time to enjoy the property. We were able to go out on a stargazing walk one evening and enjoyed the areas with solar lights-it was magical. Bring a flashlight however, if you plan to go out at night.
Would love to return again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The naturalness and sustainability of the area
Liked least: Futon bed was a little hard with my arthritis
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation! It was a pleasure to host your family gathering. I also wanted to mention that I do have flashlights in each lodging, and will definitely put them in a more prominent location henceforth. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha H
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“We loved Suitable Digs...perfect balance of aesthetics and sustainability!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We couldn't have been happier with Lisa and her remarkable homestead. We stayed in the Bunkhouse which was cozy, warm, and colorful...bright sunshine streaming in...we never even needed to turn on heat at night. The Bunkhouse was well equipped with all we needed. We slept well in the comfortable bed. Lisa was a delightful host... available, friendly, helpful. Her recommendations for restaurants were appreciated...local places we likely wouldn't have found on our own. Suitable Digs is 'off the beaten path' which was great to come home to at night....quiet and peaceful. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The taste of truly 'living' in Santa Fe's high desert environment.
Liked least: Perhaps the dirt road to her drive....soon to be improved.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words and thoroughness of details, Stacey! And I'm glad to know about the bed...didn't realize it was so loose, just had it tightened by the person who made it, and will investigate pillow-top options as recommended. So look forward to seeing you and Steve again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing