We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique”
Review of River Walk

River Walk
Ranked #1 of 231 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Paseo del Rio is San Antonio's favorite attraction. You can shop, dine, lounge in a cafe, or simply stroll along and let the strumming mariachi soothe your spirit.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful asset to have in a city. SA took advantage of a wonderful resource. Highly recommend checking it out. I recommend doing research to determine “the best restaurant” to choose. Super place for an early morning g power walk before everyone else gets there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23 798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 1 705 reviews
"lots of restaurants"
in 622 reviews
"people watching"
in 634 reviews
"street level"
in 404 reviews
"nice walk"
in 408 reviews
"christmas lights"
in 384 reviews
"both sides"
in 272 reviews
"water taxi"
in 243 reviews
"the pearl"
in 370 reviews
"downtown area"
in 230 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 298 reviews
"walk around"
in 222 reviews
"boats"
in 959 reviews
"ducks"
in 401 reviews
"trees"
in 589 reviews
"barge"
in 353 reviews
"cruise"
in 700 reviews
Filter

2 068 - 2 072 of 23 801 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

My wife & I stayed in San Antonio for 3 days, this was a main attraction for us.
First night we went down was a Monday evening. We were surprised ho busy it was for a week night. But I thought it's that way every night, at least the two nights we visited.
Lots of restaurants & bars. Mostly Mexican but a few other choices.
We did take the boat ride canal tour. Worth the time & money.
Wear some good walking shoes.
It was fun sitting by the canal watching the people stroll by.

We were there right before the Final Four games. I can't imagine how crazy it was going to be there. One of the bar tenders told me how much beer they were going to have on hand was incredible. He said it still probably wouldn't be enough!
Glad we missed that!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank U5596XNjohna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

There are a lot of eateries along the Riverwalk. If you like Mexican food then you have a wide variety of choices. There are a number of chain restaurants which I prefer to stay away from so that limited the choices for me. We did find some great Happy Hours and the drink and food specials were a great value. The Riverwalk is a fantastic place to "People Watch".

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Make sure you take the boat tour, it's inexpensive and a great way to see a lot in a short time. The guide's are friendly and knowledgeable. After the tour you can walk back to any store or restaurant that caught your eye. Have fun

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank I-go-out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a most enjoyable stroll along the river bank, passing by various sights and watering holes - we walked from the Pearl to downtown, caught a river boat with commentary around the town centre, and later on caught the river boat shuttle back up to the Pearl. The bridges between downtown and the Pearl have art underneath or some artistic feature, and you go though a lock gate, with the boat being raised up to the upper level of the river. We saw plenty of ducks, as well as turtles sunning themselves at the side of the river. The boat ride goes as far as the Pearl, which is an old brewery district which has been renovated and is full of places to eat and drink. We visited in late March and the weather was very warm and pleasant and ideal for enjoying the river walk.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank NoraTJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Walk also viewed

 

Been to River Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing