We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hospitality Greatness!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
147 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Salem, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Spontaneo...
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality Greatness!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Loved the Henry Derby House! My husband and i went to Salem for our honeymoon and figured we'd try a bed and breakfast for the first time. This place was perfect! Great hospitality, very clean and so homey! We stayed three nights and Jocelyn was there for our every need. They even brought an air conditioner up when it got hot. We would definitely stay here again and are looking forward to our next visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleSrRul...
Hudson, NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprise Anniversay Weekend”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

For our 33rd anniversary, my husband surprised me with a weekend stay at the Henry Derby House. We had stayed there before and fell in love with the warmth and charm of the building as well as the welcoming ease of the owners, Jocelyn and Phil. Instead of the Red Room, which we had before, we stayed in the Mauve Room. With it's king size bed, period furniture and fireplace it was a perfect romantic get away. And there on the bureau was a mauve vase filled with 33 roses! Thank you, Jocelyn and Phil, for making this an anniversary to remember.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funincanc...
capecod,ma.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, Friendly, Cozy, Welcoming”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for my husband's birthday and the owner was very nice helping us plan an overnight stay there. There was parking right on the street in front of the inn, and upon walking inside, the old world charm of yesterday was right there in the history of the house, furniture and in the Drawing Room. One of the staff immediately welcomed us with a friendly, happy greeting and showed us to our room. When we needed to know where to eat dinner she helped us find a perfect restaurant within walking distance for us and offered to help us the next morning with what to see and a map on how to get there and where to eat tomorrow too.
We stayed in the Red Room which was a small room with a queen size bed that was comfortable; there is a private small bathroom / shower in this room as well and a brick wall where an open fireplace is situated.
At breakfast the next morning the owner and staff member where there to greet us and offer us coffee / tea, making toast / English muffins toasted / oatmeal for us. On the dinning room table was so much food that we couldn't try it all, but there was a generous bowel of fruit, several serving bowels of cereals, muffins, a plate of wonderful apple cinnamon buns, coffee cakes, chocolate, yogurt, peanut butter............................... more but I lost track of all the things.
After breakfast the owner took the time to tell us some history of the Inn, gentle spirits, and showed us more things to see / do / eat in town and we had a wonderful time there mostly due to the warm / friendly cozy owner and staff.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justikasf...
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was for 3 nights in October. It was my 8 year old daughter's first trip to Salem and it is quite difficult to find a B&B that accepts children. The Henry Derby House is beautiful, well located, and has a perfect conjoining Gold room while my fiance and I stayed in the Mauve room. Breakfast was a wonderful spread of cereals, fruits, yogurts, bagels, breads, and muffins. Jocelyn and Allison are down to earth, helpful, and knowledgeable. It wasn't long before we were sharing stories with other guests. We will definitely return!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomG647
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Old World charm”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here in October for one night; it was perfect to experience the charms of Salem during Halloween month. Our hosts were really friendly and helpful; when we asked for some advice on where to go for dinner, we got some great, detailed advice.

The whole building is charming and our room was very cute.

Location couldn't have been better.

A wonderful place to stay.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$500
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing