We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we needed -- Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casita de Luz

Back yard facing casita
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back yard facing casita
Private back yard. Living and Dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Back yard facing casita
Private back yard.
Living and Dining area.
Bedroom.
Kitchen.
Front
Front
Backyard Fountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tucson, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kmcgrath1
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we needed -- Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We come to Tucson about twice a year and this is one of the best places we've ever stayed. Plenty of room, both indoors and outdoors. The back yard was shielded from prying eyes, and a lovely place to experience fresh air and sunshine. Great small sitdown table that we could use for both a place to eat and a desk for both of us. Dave even brought us eggs from his chickens, which tasted delicious. Very centrally located with parking off the street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shared table/desk and good wifi signal.
Liked least: Water pressure in the shower -- could be a little stronger.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelicityS...
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Private, clean, welcoming and lovely”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stumbled on Casita de Luz while looking for a place to stay in Tucson during our May vacation. What a terrific find! An adorable adobe house with a spacious living/dining room, bedroom, bath and full kitchen, the casita was clean,quiet and private. A lovely private patio with a table under a lighted tree was a terrific bonus. Additional bonus features were WiFi, cable TV with Netflix, a kitchen stocked with coffee, tea, popcorn, bottled water, and even a couple of bottles of wine. Located a few blocks north of the UofA, the casita was within an easy drive of the downtown, the foothills and the Sonoran Desert Museum. The owners, David and Luz, were friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Though we had no problems, they made it clear that they were there to help if we needed anything. My husband and I had a wonderful time. We very highly recommend Casita de Luz!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a private, quiet house as a home base.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeeAarghT...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great stay in Tucson”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to the Casita de Luz was just as good as our first! It is conveniently located for visiting the U of A campus and museums, and with the new trolley service, there is another option for getting downtown. The Casita is great for a couple, comfortable, with all the utensils you need if you want to cook, and plenty of eat-out opportunities nearby. The garden patio is nice for sitting outdoors when the weather is warm, and there is plenty of shade if it is hot. Hosts were very helpful and informative, with good recommendations of places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce h
Winter Garden, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an enjoyable 5 night stay at Casita de Luz. Our host Dave checked in with us several times to make sure every thing was okay. We enjoyed sitting on the patio in the backyard especially at night when the decorative lights were on. The bed was very comfortable. The location was close to grocery shopping and the sights we wanted to see.
We would stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMac31752
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint, clean with all the necessities...”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for 4 days and the "Casita" was an excellent choice for our stay. The place was clean, well maintained and all the appliances worked. David was exceptionally cooperative and helpful, even installing a clothes drying line on very short notice. I would recommend this location for anyone spending any time in Tucson...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing