We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sky Island Falconry Experience
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible interactive experience!

This was an absolutely incredible experience, and an educational, interactive, and thrilling... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
345jenna
A fantastic, unique experience

This was a unique, fantastic experience. We went on the afternoon Hawk Walk, with Brian as our... read more

Reviewed 16 February 2021
MrsB0wman
,
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Read all 6 reviews
  
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hawk walk white stallion ranch his enthusiasm perch prey falconer bird navigate desert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2021

This was a unique, fantastic experience. We went on the afternoon Hawk Walk, with Brian as our guide and his Harris’s Hawk named Jeffrey. We walked through a beautiful part of the desert alongside the mountains, while Jeffrey hunted for prey and Brian explained how the falconer works with the bird. He taught us how to call the bird to our glove, and we all got a chance to try it several times. Brian explained the bird’s hunting instincts and the tricks its prey use to avoid capture. I highly recommend this experience. The walk wasn’t strenuous and the guide was knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. You can be hands-on with the bird if you wish, or just enjoy watching the bird work and take some fantastic photos. We loved it and have been talking about it all day.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank MrsB0wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021

We participated in the Group Hawk Walk. Brian was the the host along with his hawk, Jeffery. Brian is so passionate about falconry. His enthusiasm is contagious. He loved to answer the many questions we had. Each person was able to call the hawk multiple times. Even if birds make you uncomfortable, I still recommend it! You don't have to call the bird to your arm, you can also just go to learn and take in the scenery and the magnificence of Jeffery. There was a woman in our group that was hesitant to do it, but then tried and had the biggest smile on her face! It is well worth the money. I highly recommend it! If you are staying at White Stallion Ranch, they will provide transportation to the site, which is about a mile from the ranch.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Coffee_talks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2021 via mobile

Went on the afternoon walk. This is a great experience as falconer Brian brought his Harris Hawk Jeffrey. Watched Jeffrey attempt to catch prey in a desert setting with the northern part of Saguaro NP in the background.

It was a touch windy at one point and to watch Jeffrey navigate the wind was a great experience. Very much worth it

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank paulsT5342KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

We booked an afternoon "Hawk Walk"with Sky Island Falconry while staying at White Stallion Ranch. We walked along with master falconer Brian and his hawk Jeffrey through some of the wild areas of the White Stallion property to "help" Jeffrey hunt for prey. We were also given gloves and were able to "call" Jeffrey to perch on our arm.

Brian provided good background about falconry, his hawk Jeffrey and how to help flesh out prey. His enthusiasm for the sport and love of birds of prey was infectious! It was super fun being able to interact with Jeffrey and see him in action out in the wilderness. He even managed to catch a small mouse while we were out which was interesting to see.

We all enjoyed it and I would say that my teenage boys (age 16 and 18) especially loved it. They said it was the highlight of their trip to the ranch. It was great to spend time outside, enjoy nature and learn more about these impressive raptors. Would definitely recommend checking it out, especially easy to do if staying at White Stallion Ranch.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank L3713SCsusank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews