We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
10
12
6
7
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
12
6
7
25
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Big mistake to stay here. It is motel for the homeless. The city pays $65 per night for people waiting for public housing. I agree with helping people. The cigarette smoke permeated my room. Noise and smoke until well after 2am. In the morning the police came and took one person away. Too bad. Helpful friendly staff. Nice pool.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lacreta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inngirl79, Manager at Penny Saver Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We are sorry for your experience. We’d like to clarify however, that the city and no other entity pays us $65 a night to house homeless. Our staff is available 24/7 for any noise complaints, should you have any problems the manager on-site would be the best way to rectify any noise complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Great hotel clean friendly close to town. Near react rants. Next to a coffe shop. Close to beaches. Great seafood places etc. Handicap assessable very friendly staff. Close to redwoods. With goood fishing

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inngirl79, Manager at Penny Saver Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Arriving in Crescent City we found the Penny Saver, they had been doing some remodeling and sprucing the place up. The rooms and pool/hot tub were very clean and nice. "Karreena" the hotel manager was over the top super nice and very helpful. We would stay here again if ever in the neighbor hood.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martymoose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inngirl79, Manager at Penny Saver Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for staying with us and the wonderful and honest review. We hope to see you again on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Worst hotel stay of my life!! The first time I have EVER packed up and left a hotel because it was so bad. We ended up spending $75 to stay for an hour and a half.

First she booked us a room that wasn't actually available. We settled for a different type of room. The room and property weren't that clean. But we thought we could make due.

Right after we unloaded the car a bunch of police pulled in and there was a scuffle in the room down the way. Broken window and all. We felt like we had to line the tub with towels when we took a shower. Then the straw that broke the camels back. we decided to move the mattress from the bedroom to the tv room so we had something comfortable to sit on since there was no sofa. The bedding slipped off and it was disgusting!!!! There were big brown stains as well as some bleach stains. We went back to the office and checked to see if we could move to another room. She said she was booked up and there was nothing she could do. She even refused to give us any kind of refund when we told her it was too bad for us to stay in. We loaded our things and got the hell out of there feeling totally cheated out of our money! We went to the motel 6 down the street.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank klund987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Nice front end owner/receptionist.
Thats where it ends. Very low end in all respects, in bad need of makeover. Lino in bathroom floor edges held down with rusty staples, the rest of the place has a similar feel. Ok if your desperate, we were fooled by outside appearance and vehicles in parking lot. The price was $79.00, you get what you pay for. Motel 6 would have been a better choice for the money. It did have a swimming pool and hot tub, I didnt use it, looked ok from outside

Room Tip: After checking in, my wife not happy, I asked if they had a more updated room, The answer was no.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bruster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews