We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling ”
Review of Church Street Cafe

Church Street Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Church Street Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1 921 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Old Town
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Really nice, quite and quaint cafe. My husband had the Mile High Pile ($8.95), I had the Taco Salad ($9.95) and our granddaughter had pancakes and bacon ($6.95) and iced tea ($2.99 each). Very good food and nice location. Nice server but we had to wait quite a while for condiment requests, check and take-home box.

Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snoopyNewMexico, Owner at Church Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your review. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 2 380 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

This restaurant was high on our list because of the TA reviews, so we made a reservation on Open Table for breakfast at 8:30 a.m. After taking a walk around Old Town that morning and being 7:30 a.m. now, we were really hungry, so we went to check out a nearby restaurant that opened at 7 a.m., but their menu was not very inspiring, so we held our hunger in check and waited for the Church St. Café to open. (So glad we did!) We went and sat on their front door patio, almost wanting to claw at the door so they would open early.

A man came out and said they could not start serving yet, but we could come inside and find a seat and sit down. He led us to the patio in the back with was an excellent idea. What a lovely, shaded patio, complete with a nice waterfall fountain! We knew we were off to a good start.

Alfonso, the man who let us in (as we later learned his name) also waited on us. We ordered the mini burrito (for me) and the Adovado (pork) y Huevos (for the hubby). Thank goodness I got the "mini" burrito as it was anything but "mini"!! Both of our dishes were excellent, but we both agreed that the burrito was the best.

In fact, upon our departure back to Texas the next day, we both agreed this was by far the best meal we had during our whole 2.5 day trip, both in terms of food and service. (Another really good meal was at Seasons.) When our server, Alfonso, brought us our bill, he said he was also the cashier. Made us laugh as he was our greeter, our server and our cashier. As far as we could tell, the man was busy with customers from the moment he invited us in to the moment we left.

We liked this place and the patio so much that we came back later for a couple of beers. They served us chips and salsa which were delicious.

Do not miss this place. On the way out, I looked into the rest of the restaurant and it is huge. Lots of pockets. Used to be a home. Beautifully decorated. Five Star Plus!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snoopyNewMexico, Owner at Church Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your review. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

really enjoyed our lunch , the place is huge ! we ate in the courtyard by the fountain ..our table ate 2 sandwiches , enchilada plate and fajita salad , all very good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leslie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snoopyNewMexico, Owner at Church Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the food. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We visited the Church Street Cafe for lunch one afternoon while wandering around Old Town and it was probably the best meal we had all week in Albuquerque!

The service was outstanding. I wish I could remember our server's name, but he was quick, funny and had great suggestions. And the actual restaurant is historic and really fascinating to look around. Great ambiance.

The food was even better. Our margaritas were really, really good. The salsa that came with the chips was some of the best salsa I've ever had. My meal of enchiladas and rice was delicious. The sopaipillas were just as our server said--like little pillows of love.

Definitely make this a stop on your Albuquerque trip!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tinker2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snoopyNewMexico, Owner at Church Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your food and service. Please come see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Stopped in here last week, while strolling in Old Town.
Chips were very salty, but the salsa was good.
Husband said tacos were OK, but Spanish rice was very dry.
I had turkey on sourdough with house salad. Very basic sandwich and salad.
The food was just OK, but not worth the prices.
Maybe we need to try again and order something else.
The server was really nice and attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stracci2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snoopyNewMexico, Owner at Church Street Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your review. Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Church Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing