We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good - with reservations.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Church at FOX

The Church at FOX
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Church at FOX
Walk in shower View from mezzanine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
The Church at FOX
Walk in shower
View from mezzanine
Lounge area
Alps end of the building
Dining and Lounge area from mezzanine
Dining and lounge from Kitchen
Dining and kitchen from Lounge
Main King Size bed
Bedroom from Mezzanine
Bedroom
Bathroom basin & mirror
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen area
Complimentary Red Bridge Central Otago Pinot Noir
Sign
Outdoor area
Mezzanine roof
Bathroom
Mezzanine roof
Ceiling and roof beams
View from the carpark at dusk
Southern Alps end of the building at dusk
Lounge area
Lounge area as the sun goes down
Carpark end of the building as the sun goes down
Lounge area and pulpit viewed from the mezzanine
The Church at FOX at night
The Church at FOX from the street
The Church at FOX viewed from the road at dusk
Original church artefacts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RowePCCA
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good - with reservations.”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a converted church that certainly had a wow factor on arrival. On closer inspection we found the large bed wasn't - it had a large base but smaller mattress which was too soft for us. Also no wardrobe for hanging clothes and the fridge freezer in the open plan unit was very noisy. We really liked this unit and find it a shame to comment on these things, which includes scraping the bottom of your car when leaving as there is no permanent cross-over to the road just a piece of wood at the road kerbside.

The building is also next to the main road and whilst windows are double glazed you could certainly hear the traffic noise, early morning and later afternoon, as the road is on a hill.

One further comment which we found off-putting was finding a baited spring sprung mouse trap - as this unit is not serviced daily we were lucky we didn't see any extra visitors!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
We are sorry that This guest did not find things perfect for them- I guess we can't please everybody 100% of the time. We have been a Superhost (all 5 star reviews) on AirBnB for over a year, our booking.com score is in the mid 9's and almost all our reviews leave us with a great feeling of satisfaction and pride in our building.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerChen...
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good self service place”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Church has its quirky charms and modern amenities, including a fully equipped kitchen. It offered a comfortable stay close to town center. Once you've spent a few minutes going through the instructions everything worked as they should.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Marvelous Luxury Home”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

If you're staying at the Fox glacier, booking the Church should be a no-brainer. The home is very tastefully done, with a fully equipped kitchen, all modern amenities and yet maintains the feel of an ancient Church. AJ was very helpful during the entire boiling process well. Would love to come back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little_Mi...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Amazing building, but a shame about the inadequate heating”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Positives:
- Interesting building (great idea to restore it), decorated beautifully, well equipped kitchen and facilities, comfortable couch for cosying up, free bottle of wine on arrival.

Negatives:
- FREEZING! Really spoiled the whole experience for me. One AC unit to heat the entire place doesn't cut it. Left it on all night along with a small heater we found and ceiling fan but the building was still ice cold the following morning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful building - modern decor.
Liked least: Poor heating.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
We appreciate that it can be a big adjustment coming from the heat of the tropics to the middle of NZ in winter, however when we checked we found that this guest had not followed the clear instructions in the house manual and the heat pump (which is the largest commercial grade that we could source) was not set correctly. Because of the very high vaulted ceiling its never going to be 30 degrees inside in the middle of winter, but if its set right then you can get it a reasonable temperature inside the building
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowangee
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We only stayed one night at the Church and I am sad we didn't stay for longer. This is a property which has clearly been lovingly renovated with a lot of thought given to interior design and clever use of space. The exposed beams alone deserved to be photographed! The kitchen was ideal, brand new and modern, the bed was so comfortable, the little living area was a perfect place for us to unwind, the bathroom was beautiful and the whole place was filled with natural light. I honestly can't fault it. AJ was very helpful before we arrived, and very friendly over email. Thank you so much for the bottle of wine and for making our experience at Fox Glacier so much more special. This is a unique property which I thoroughly recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thanks so much Rowan - I'm really happy that you had such a great time and enjoyed the environment as much as I do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing