We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours
from US$125,00
More Info
from US$388,00
More Info
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
68
5
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
5
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna day trip his enthusiasm chocolate factory cloud forest booked a private tour white water tubing cable car butterfly farm moderate hike sharing information local lunch knowledgeable naturalist excellent trip grilled chicken great guide humming birds
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We were a group of 4 that Richard took for a day tour from Quito to Mindo. We really appreciated Richard's knowledge as a naturalist, and his eco-friendly approach. It really sets him above just a regular guide. And his stories and humor were fun and interesting as well. He was very flexible and successful in meeting the very diverse interests of our group. We would highly recommend contacting Richard if you are looking for a naturalist and guide for your tour to Mindo.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank fckcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We just spent the day with Richard doing a hiking and birding day in the Mindo Cloud Forest and we cannot recommend this highly enough. I called Richard very last-minute and he was graciously able to fit us in and accompanied us for the day. We were so lucky! Richard is very knowledgeable about the forest and also very passionate about conservation and eco-tourism. He knows where excellent private reserves are in the forest and took us to three spots where we saw an amazing array of hummingbirds, toucans and tanagers. We also enjoyed a beautiful hike into a huge waterfall where we saw many orchids, bromeliads and lilies. Richard is so friendly, open and warm and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with him throughout the day. I couldn't imagine coming to the Mindo cloud forest with anyone else, and we're already planning how we can get back to do more exploring here. Definitely visit the Mindo cloud forest when you're in Quito.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank LavenderFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Richard did an excellent job of guiding the tour through Mindo Cloud Forest sharing information on flora and fauna every step of the way. His enthusiasm, knowledge and friendliness made the trip a joy. While we don’t often do tours, we’re glad we took this one. It was worth it. Because we can’t walk long distance or over difficult terrain, we wanted the classic tour with short and easy walks. He set up just what we needed. He made a good package that fit our interests, abilities and the weather conditions.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank brianhX1193UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HernandezRichard, Propietario at Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you so much for your visit to Mindo Cloud Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We booked an adventure tour with Richard Hernandez. This could not have been a more perfect day! Richard promptly picked us up at 6:45 am at our place in Quito, he informed us we had about a 2 hour drive to the Mindo Cloud Forrest. As we drove, Richard spoke to us about Ecuador's history, ecosystem and politics as well as his life experiences. It was very interesting and he speaks very good English. We made a quick stop to grab a breakfast sandwich and then arrived at our Canopy Tour (zip line) destinantion. We completed 10 exhilarating ziplines, amazing views and thrilling rides, from there Richard drove us to meet another guide, Peter and we hiked a beautiful path through the forest to the top of 3 cascading waterfalls. A bonus is we saw 2 Tucans on our walk and crossed a suspension bridge over the river. After some brief instruction, We began canyoning (rappelling) down the waterfalls. This was a truly awesome experience and Peter & Richard took great pictures for us. After we finished, we hiked out of the forest and Richard drove us to our third adventure of the day, a white water tubing trip!!!! The water was cold, but refreshing after a long hike through the jungle. Richard's friend actually shot video of this for us too. When we finished, Richard took us to a beautiful lodge and showed us changing rooms we could use, when we were all dry, we met him in the dinning room where he arranged a great lunch, grilled chicken, vegetables & potatoes. On our way home, Richard made sure to take us to the Mitad Del Mundo for pictures. This was a day I will never forget!

Date of experience: May 2018
4  Thank bechtolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HernandezRichard, Propietario at Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Your visit to Mindo cloud forest was very much appreciated. Thank you very much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Carla from CarpeDiem tours was great & I would recommend her highly. She was our guide for me & Jacqui that was on my GAdventures Galapagos tour. She is friends with a couple that built a treehouse on their property & asked our driver to stop there so we could see it. The couple was very nice & allowed us to check it out. We had limited time so Carla recommended that we go to the waterfalls but just see 1 of them, not all 7. The tram that takes you across was backed up due to Ecuador having it's annual holiday, May 1st. Carla found out that we could walk there rather than wait for up to an hour for the tram. The walk was muddy & slick in several spots but she helped me down (I'm a little over 60 & not as sure of myself). When we walked uphill she was patient & waited while I caught my breath. We were able to take the tram back to the entrance. It was kind of like ziplining but in a little tram. Very cool. Next was the butterfly & hummingbird tour. It was small but had a lot of beautiful butterflies as well as plants. It started to rain not too long after we got there so we only saw 1 hummingbird. Then we went to the chocolate factory. We got to taste & see the chocolates that were made there, the cacao trees, etc. Carla kindly got a chocolate brownie with a candle in it to celebrate my birthday. That was unexpected. It's a nice day trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews