We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Etc... Penarth

Etc... Penarth
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Description: Welcome to our conceptual fusion restaurant and cocktail bar in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan's attractive seaside town, Penarth. Local businessman and Interior Designer Alex Mules, has collabrated with multi award winning Consultant Chef Stephen Gomes to ensure our upmarket dining venture's masterstroke of fine dining.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to our conceptual fusion restaurant and cocktail bar in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan's attractive seaside town, Penarth. Local businessman and Interior Designer Alex Mules, has collabrated with multi award winning Consultant Chef Stephen Gomes to ensure our upmarket dining venture's masterstroke of fine dining.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Parking nearby, lovely decor, small restaurant.
Sunday lunch is just amazing!!
Although set 2-3 course menu, I always end up having just mains as it’s very filling, everything on the plate is home-cooked and extremely tasty! They are ok with this and take for just 1 course.
Staff have always been lovely, service could be quicker, defo will be returning.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank w2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at Etc... Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your kind review. We’re glad you enjoy our Sunday lunches. There’s nothing better than enjoying a traditional roast dinner without having to cook it yourself.
Thank you for being a loyal Etc customer and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards
Etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a few issues trying to.book a table, which didn't bode well. Deposit taken which wasn't an issue. Went at specified time booked and a gorgeous place I have to say but was told issue with hotplate therefore no steaks available or lamb, we said ok we will have a look at menu to see. Well apart from steaks or lamb, there was gnocchi, hake or vegetarian terrine, that's ok 8f you like that sort of thing. We did say sorry not for us, and they put deposit back on my card (although gut feeling is will 've issues as not showing in my bank yet), but I did say that they asked for contact number so why couldn't they ring to let us know, answer to which was we thought people would stay. Was really looking forward to going as menu is amazing but would have to seriously think about it now!
It felt like they didn't really care to he honest! Very disappointing.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Tasha1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at Etc... Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon,
We are so sorry that you weren’t able to try our full menu on this occasion. We had a gas leak and we were advised by nation grid to wait. This is an unfortunate situation but was out of our hands.
We really do hope you will join us again as we’re sure you would really enjoy yourself and our food. Please accept our sincerest apologies and pop us an email enquiries@etc-Penarth.com and we will be in touch to invite you to dine in another occasion.
Kindest regards and humblest apologies,
Etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great meal and really good service. Pricy but worth the money and have been a few times.
Unfortunately my leather jacket was taken from the coat stand and whilst the staff on the night were as helpful as they could be, the after sales customer service has been appalling. I had to constantly follow this up and 6 weeks on I had to call in to get an update. Whilst I realise that my jacket isn’t returning, I feel extremely disappointed with the poor customer care. Sadly, this will put me off returning and clearly I’ve vented to friends who live locally. A dampener on what was an expensive but lovely meal. (Very expensive if you add the jacket on!!)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank welshone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at Etc... Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

We’re extremely sorry to read your review and apologise if there is any miss communication
We have in fact gone to great lengths to try and recover your jacket. We checked the CCTV, called and emailed every booking from that night and asked them to check with the rest of their party incase someone had picked up your jacket by mistake. We have spoken to you to let you know what’s happening but as you can imagine, these things take time. We also called to let you know that so far nothing had come of our enquires and we would let you know if anything changed. As far as we are concerned, there’s little else we can do and if we do recover your jacket, we will be in touch ASAP.
I don’t think it’s fair at all to say we haven’t done enough and our customer care wasn’t satisfactory because I’m sure most places wouldn’t go to the lengths that we have.
We really do hope your jacket will turn up and that your negative taste of Etc will disappear with this because as you said, you enjoy your visits but as far as badmouthing us to your friends, this is a real shame and we hope you will realise that this isn’t our fault, just an extremely frustrating thing that we wish hadn’t happened.

Kindest regards,
Etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Average food, but great 'theatre'. Bistro food at fine dining prices. There is a reliance on theatrical presentation to enhance the experience, good for a one off maybe. Service was good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at Etc... Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bryan,

Thank you for your review although we would like to know more. We're so sorry that you were anything but totally impressed with your visit but we absolutely do not see our food as average bistro food so we would like to discuss where we missed the mark so that we are able to correct this in the future. Please email us directly - enquiries@etc-penarth.com and we will be in touch.

Kindest regards,
Etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Amazing food, amazing singer and service was impeccable. Presentation of food and drinks to a very high standard and the taste did not disappoint. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindafogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at Etc... Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your kind review and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit. It doesn't get much better than an evening filled with fine food and fantastic entertainment. We hope you will join us again soon.

Kindest regards
Etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Etc... Penarth also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Etc... Penarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing