We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ThusharCh...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The place is more enchanting then the pictures lead you to believe.
My husband and I escaped to Wales with our 18 month daughter and we had a wonderful time. It is was safe for her to run around in and Marian provided her with lots of toys and books to keep her entertained.
Brian and Marian really know the area and advised to visit some amazing places which we wouldn't have found on our own.
The place is filled with a very loving energy and I think it comes from the love Brian and Marian put in to the place.
We will definitely go back when my daughter so that she can hold onto to the memories.
Thank you for an amazing time and opening your home to us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Thank you for reviewing Riverside Retreat so warmly and positively. We get so much pleasure when our guests respond the way you have. It was important to us to observe your little one and make some hasty improvements, although very minor, to the fencing at the river edge to give maximum security.We are also so pleased you visited so many different places whilst having Riverside Retreat as your base. You rightly told us the area is truly amazingly beautiful. Thank you both for taking the time to reflect on Trip Advisor and help future guests decide if the cabin is right for them.
We look forward to meeting you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
an0nss
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful cabin in amazing location”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I've not written reviews before but the Riverside Retreat has made me do it - Marian and Brian have created such a wonderful place to stay with the warmest of welcomes and everything considered. The cabin has its own private space with a jetty overlooking the river - a wonderful spot for breakfast - as well as a large patio area on which to relax (gas bbq is a great bonus!). The cabin is in Marion and Brian's most beautiful gardens, which are clearly a labour of love and which we felt very welcome to enjoy. The cabin itself is very well planned out, with everything we could need and all spotlessly clean. There are plenty of lovely walks all around and the setting really couldn't be better if you are wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of life - perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to reiterate what you had told us during your stay and when you were leaving. To get such a review makes us feel we must be doing things right for the type of guests we attract. This makes us happy but not complacent as we continue to strive to improve facilities and make our guests stay memorable, hoping they may return one day.Certainly your review will help further guests determine wether Riverside Retreat is the right holiday for them. The jetty seems to be a great hit and with a retractable awning , sitting out viewing the wildlife and listening / watching the river is a priceless addition.The fire pit and outdoor blankets are also proving invaluable We hope you make a return visit now you know how much we have to offer.
Thank you again, we appreciate your efforts, flattering comments and feel honoured to be the first holiday you have reviewed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazza1306...
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing and warm welcome”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most fabulous break here. Lovely welcome from Brian and Marian especially loved the berry pavlova and bottle of wine on arrival.
The accommodation was exceptionally clean and had everything you could wish for including a washing machine. The children were encouraged to make full use of surroundings and were invited to use the dinghy in the river as well as table tennis, swing ball, billiards and table top football. The children were never bored.
We made full use of BBQ and both hosts gave advice where to visit and where to shop for groceries. We felt like we've know Brian and Marian for years. We will definitely recommend to stay here as you will not be disappointed. We hope to come back again in summer time to see the change in scenery when trees have blossomed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and so glowing. We do appreciate the importance of a successful holiday and we like to do all we can to ensure our guests get the most from their stay at Riverside Retreat and you all certainly did that. It was wonderful for us to see how chilled out you all were. Our memories of you all are the amount of time spent in the river from the moment you arrived and all the towels draped everywhere to dry. Your very successful trip to our local butcher to initiate the new lava rock gas BBQ, but your hike to the top of Snowdon was the most impressive. We look forward to your return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max196873...
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic relaxing place to stay, home from home”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

just writiing this review as about to leave this wonderful cabin, the owners were away this weekend so not got chance to meet them but got a call explaining they had to leave at 6 on the friday and we couldnt get there to after that, so marian left the key and explained where everything was, on arrival, we had a homemade apple pie and bottle of wine as a welcome gift how lovely , cabin warm and cosy, bed comfortable, kitchen well stocked, towels as well, home from home, internet by a cable for laptop bring your own no wi fi and we couldnt get a phone signal, but it was fine, very relaxing and will come back when weather warmer, thankyou marian and brian , for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location by river
Liked least: lack of wifi, and phone signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Riverside Retreat. We endeavour to be around to greet our guests and were sorry not to have been here on this occasion.However we are pleased you experienced the peace, quiet and tranquility that the Retreat offers. We are also sorry you overlooked in the Holiday Lettings advert but we cannot provide Wi-Fi in the cabin due to its location.However we are pleased you were able to conduct your studies using the laptop connection.Yes Riverside Retreat is just that so you will be lucky to get a phone signal once you leave LLanrhaeadr village but we will always help out by allowing guests to use our land line in special circumstances. Unfortunately in your case we were unable to help but hope you will return now you know all the best Riverside Retreat has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very beautiful mini-break”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely chalet over valentines weekend. With lots of romantic scenery, interesting places to visit and peaceful accommodation, we couldn't have made a better choice. The chalet is furnished perfectly to create a relaxing atmosphere and provided us with a very comfortable and very happy visit. Seeing the beautiful waterfall (only a couple of miles away from the accommodation) was definitely a highlight to the holiday. We couldn't recommend this place enough and will hopefully be back in the summer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you for writing such a glowing review.Our hope is that all our guests leave with the spell that the Retreat and the Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall casts. We hope you can make a return visit in the summer to appreciate a different landscape and enjoy walking through our garden.With the various seating areas along the riverside maybe you will leave with further memories of magical moments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing