We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful rural location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cross House

Cross House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite Ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Ensuite sink
Ensuite shower
Family bathroom with spa bath
Family bathroom
Lounge with wood burning stove
Main reception wood burning stove ready to light with well stocked wood baskets
Well equiped kitchen
Kitchen with family sized fridge freezer and dishwasher
Kitchen alcove
Utility room with 9kg load washing machine
Original farm house stone stairs
Landing
Landing
Second reception
Second reception double sofabed
Downstairs toilet
The back of Cross House
The River Wye at Llyswen June 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Glasbury-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
holalawra
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful rural location.”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed in this cottage with 9 friends for one night. We had a lovely time chatting to the locals in the pub across the road, and then making pizzas in the cottage after. It's a really beautiful cottage in a beautiful rural setting, with a subtle mix of old farmhouse style with some contemporary features.
It was more than comfortable for 10 adults. There's an outdoor covered seating area with a moroccan feel and fairy lights in the garden, which is perfect of an evening.
It's very close to Brecon beacons, and within 20 minutes drive of Penyfan.
There was enough room for us to park 4 cars in the drive too.
Also not only were the owners relaxed and friendly, but also very accommodating. We arrived at the cottage to find that there was milk, bread, coffee and some other day to day necessities waiting for us.
My friends and I would definitely like to return to the cottage to walk up penyfan mountain in the summer. We only stayed a night, but didn't want to leave the next day. We would have all liked to spend a whole week there.
We'd all like to recommend this cottage as a place to stay. We had a fantastic time and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffion1969
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in wonderful location”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You can tell that this cottage was renovated my a family who intended to live there. It is really well appointed and retains some of the family's personal items like photographs on the wall. This makes it feel really homely. We arrived to find milk in the fridge and tea and coffee in the cupboards as well as a plate of delicious home-made flapjacks. There was spare bedding dotted discretely around the bedrooms in wicker trunks to ensure that everyone could be as warm and cozy at they wanted, although the underfloor heating and the fast response of the zonal thermostats, along with the wonderful wood-burning stove, meant that we were never cold. The friendly and relaxed owners (neighbours to the property) were able to make recommendations for local places to visit and eat and the pub across the road does good food too. There is a handy Spar shop just down the road and open until 10pm for things you might have forgotten. A wonderful house - thoroughly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renia p
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Crown of holiday lets”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I (8 adults) have just returned from a wonderful weekend in the Brecon/Powys region. We rented Cross House and found this property lived up to its reputation. A 'Jewel in the Crown' of holiday lets!
Rachel's welcome basket friendly helpful and useful local knowledge was just the tonic.
After a day's Gorge Walking in the Black Mountains returning exhilarated but wet, cold, and hungry, the facilities of Cross House were ideal especially the underfloor heating and log fire, a very welcome warm home. Supper was enjoyed in the Griffin pub (opposite) the food was lovely and all locally sourced. All in all Cross House is a home from home its location is ideal for exploring the Brecon/Powys region I would highly recommend it and would not hesitate to return again. All the Pearson's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, spacious, well equipped, superb location for visiting the Brecons
Liked least: the pull out single beds would not be suitabe for adults on a lengthy stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjr202
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly and newly refurbished”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A number of us stayed for just one night which was difficult to find for a larger group but this was perfect for the 8 of us. Greeted with a very warm welcome on arrival, some fresh homemade welsh cakes which were amazing, tea, milk, coffee etc, everything you'd wish for but wouldn't imagine being provided for just a 1 night stay. Those nice touches always make the difference and the standard of the cottage is very high. Very high quality finishing a in kitchen and bathrooms, perfect for a weekend or a week away with plenty to explore locally.
Would be my first place to book next time I'm back in the area and so much cheaper than a B&B or hotel but much more pleasent

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend break, a home away from home”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A group of five working London girls sought sanctuary in the beautiful surroundings of the Brecon Beacons and found this wonderful cottage- and what a find! The cottage was spacious, extremely well equipped, and cosy with the perfect amount of modern features. We were met by the owner Rachael who had stocked up with bread, milk and eggs for our next day breakfast and made welsh cakes hot out of the pan as soon as we walked in the door. She made us feel very welcome, and went above and beyond to ensure we have everything we needed; from offering directions, to giving wonderful restaurant recommendations, to allowing us to borrow her computer when we needed to use higher speed internet. The location was perfect for our purposes--a few walks around the Brecon Beacons national park, and exploring the surrounding villages for cream tea-- and the cottage offered fantastic value for money. We would absolutely recommend and consider visiting again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and location
Liked least: Wifi is slightly slow, but was really no problem as we were away from the hustle and bustle of London and didn't really want it anyway!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$202
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing