We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to picturesque Hafod y Rhedrwydd, in beautiful Snowdonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to picturesque Hafod y Rhedrwydd, in beautiful Snowdonia
The cosy, characterful living room A lovely oil fired stove, perfect for winter evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Welcome to picturesque Hafod y Rhedrwydd, in beautiful Snowdonia
The cosy, characterful living room
A lovely oil fired stove, perfect for winter evenings
Light, bright and inviting farmhouse-style kitchen
Stunning Stanley oil fired range cooker
Nice little touches
Looking out over old ruins at the stunning Snowdonia countryside
The family bathroom, on the ground floor, with bath, toilet and wash basin
Bedroom 1, a characterful room, with a double bed
The remote cottage benefits from truly stunning views
Bedroom 2, another lovely room, also with a double bed
Nicely presented
Bedroom 3, which contains a single bed
A nice view of the stream that flows past the cottage
Hafod is a beautiful Welsh cottage!
A traditional, detached cottage
A stunning and peaceful location
The cottage sits in the Snowdonia National Park
Hafod is one of the highest cottages in Wales
The rural garden provides total peace and tranquillity
Snowdonia is a beautiful place for walking and relaxing
Friendly sheep are the only neighbours!
Lovely flowers in the garden
The cottage is accessed by an old footbridge
Hafod is the perfect countryside retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Penmachno, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spaceibiz...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, shame about the owners. Would not recommend staying here.”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
6
people found this review helpful

This cottage is quaint and set in beautiful snowdonia national park. We were really looking forward to our long weekend away here. After booking, we had to pay a further £100 deposit via PayPal directly to the owners. We spoke to them on the phone and discovered the cottage does not have mains electricity. Electricity is supplied via a petrol generator located in a stone out building attached to the side of the cottage. This was not a problem to me, as I am a car enthusiast and enjoy tinkering around with engines and things like that. We were advised to leave the door propped open with a rock whilst it was running, and to turn it off at night to save petrol.

On arrival, we started the generator, propped the door open and plugged in the extractor fan. The heating in the cottage is via an oil burning stove which was already burning when we arrived. There is an oil burning range cooker which was also on when we arrived. The cottage was supposed to have satellite wifi, but this was not working. We also had no phone signal which we expected anyway. When it got to bedtime, my wife said that she would like the option of being able to put the light on in the night, as the cottage is so remote, when it gets dark, it really gets dark. We were advised to switch the generator off at night to save fuel, but we discussed it and thought for what it would cost, we would just fill it up with some more petrol. At least that way, we would have working electrics. After going to sleep, we were awoken at 1.00am by the carbon monoxide alarm sounding. On the back of the alarm, it said to open windows and doors, turn off any device that may emit carbon monoxide and leave the property until it has been deemed safe by an engineer. The source of carbon monoxide could have been either the generator, oil burning stove, or the range cooker. As the wifi was not working, and we had no phone signal, and there was no land line telephone, our only option was to get in the car and drive 6 miles to the nearest town. We tried to find a carbon monoxide help line to get advice, but they only work 9-5. We had no other option but to call the owners. We explained the situation to them and they diagnosed the problem as the generator. They said turn it off and everything will be fine. After speaking to them, my wife and I discussed our options. We came to the conclusion that it could have been the generator, but without it being checked, we don't know for sure. As carbon monoxide is deadly and cannot be smelt or tasted, we decided we didn't want to take the risk. So we returned to collect our things, and decided to find alternative accommodation.

The next day, we sent a very polite email to the owners, asking if they would consider a refund. Seeing as we had only stayed about 6 hours into a planned 3 night stay. They didn't offer us any refund, and instead tried to make out we were stupid and liars! We contacted Cottages.com as we booked through them. They were very helpful and agreed that we did exactly the right thing in leaving. Cottages.com then issued us a refund, but they couldn't refund us the £100 deposit we paid directly to the owners. Instead of the owners saying you have had a bad experience, here is your deposit back. They continued to be rude to us and flatly refused to give us our deposit back.

So to summarise, it is a beautiful place, but if you have a problem, don't expect any help from the owners or your deposit back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
First, to put matters straight, this booking was cancelled and the guests received a full refund from the company through which they had booked (which was not Character Cottages).

We feel that this review was extremely disappointing, especially in view of the fact that all the issues which occurred were the result of the guests' disregarding our own careful safety recommendations. As they say in the review "We were advised to switch the generator off at night"; however, they did not follow this advice.

The guests did not follow any of our safety instructions: having by their own admission completely ignored three separate safety measures, the carbon monoxide alarm fortunately performed exactly as intended.

We have since checked and double-checked all the safety instructions, precautions and alarms and are reassured that everything works as it should. We have, in addition, provided battery operated motion-sensor LED lights & bedside lights for the convenience of guests.

I cannot say strongly enough how much we care about the safety and enjoyment of all our guests in what is a beautiful remote location. This is the only time in a number of years that anyone has ignored the safety instructions and we are glad to see how much most guests enjoy their stay at Hafod.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing