We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, didn't expect that”
Review of Candelaria

Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Peratallada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: It is a cozy place where every detail is taken care of, both in the dining room and in its exquisite kitchen.
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We were a party of seven people travelling in Catalania for twelve days, so we ate at approx twenty different restaurants. This one was the best. The environment - sitting in a big garden surrounded by trees - is very nice, the service was also very nice and the food was great.

So yes, we will for sure be back next time in Peratallada.a

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Håkan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I always think that being surprised for dinner is always the best thing.
The food combinations and tastes, especially the starters were really interesting. Foie gras mousse, shrimpcarpaccio with thai touch, it was all delicious. We had a large table upstairs which was really fun and entertaining with lots of things on the wall. Critisism: the portions- especially mains were too large, and too expensive. A tasting menu of 60 euros is stretching it. Where the starters excelled, the mains were not that special and too large. It was a fun evening but we wouldn't especially return again, it wasnt special enough.
But service was lovely and with a special touch, also for the children with a welcome drink.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Hippyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice people and the food was amazing. High quality, pure and very good combinations.

Starters:
Me and my girl ate the prawn carpaccio and gazpacho as starters. Both very nice. Gazpacho not to spicy with mozarella, dryd banana and avocado cream as a side dish. The prawn carpaccio was amazing. Not to many words. Just a-ma-zing!

Main:
Both chose the tuna steak. It was served with a very nice cream. Can't remember what the cream was. I would like to recommend to say that the tuna can be baked "red". Then the taste is the best!

Hope you'll find out how beautiful this place is!

Best regards,
Johan van Gool

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank JohanvGool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This restaurant was only 15 minutes from our hotel (Mas de Torrent) and it is in a delightful area with various shops that could be nice for a stroll. Very eclectic atmosphere: cozy, quaint, and perfect for a date night if you enjoy those attributes. The food quality was high and the service was attentive. Don't worry if you don't speak the local language, the staff are accommodating and do their best to communicate in English (which is limited, but better than our Catalan, and certainly sufficient to ensure you get what you'd like!). The presentation is good, as is the quality of the food, and the thoughtful touches throughout the meal add to the experience. We would absolutely return and highly recommend it for a special evening out. This was our favorite dinner during our week on the Costa Brava.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Paul-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We were delighted by the unusual setting and tasty, slightly adventurous menu.
Worth the cost. Very friendly staff.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cleo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Candelaria also viewed

Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Palau-Sator, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 

Been to Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing