We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 726)
Filter reviews
1 726 results
Traveller rating
325
595
428
190
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
595
428
190
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish hotel restaurant food la herradura hilly location shuttle bus spanish experience self catering huge choice whole complex high floor enjoyed our holiday every evening relaxing stay per day spanish families well worth a visit costa tropical
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 726 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

we had a top floor room with an absolutely beautiful view of the sea hills and marina. we were greeted very warmly by reception and all the staff were exceptionally friendly. thanks to the cleaner who helped me with my Spanish pronunciation and the lovely lady with bright red hair in the dining room,who was always so smiley and friendly and welcoming. the food was absolutely delicious, the best we have had in Spain. the rooms where immaculately clean and so was the whole complex. we particularly enjoyed the pool and table tennis. please be warned that this is a very Spanish hotel, though every Spanish holidayer we met said Hola and was very friendly to us, for a few days there was no other English people at all, so dont expect to be able to chat unless you can speak the language. The hotel is very much focused on family with the childrens entertainment going on until 10pm (it would have been nice for a couple like us to have somewhere quiet to enjoy a drink) so we usually went up to our room with a bottle of wine to get away from the noise of children. but if you have children it would be great having them entertained. there is a nice walk to the lighthouse and chapel, but the whole area is very hilly and unless you are quite fit a car will be needed. we really enjoyed our holiday and the vibrancy of the Spanish people and will definitely be back. Almunicar has lots to see and is well worth a visit.the whole area has wonderful dramatic landscape and is exceptionally beautiful.

Room tip: top floor has wonderful views we had 520
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Best Alcazar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Lisa g,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent sharing your comments and score about our establishment.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we will be happy to welcome you again at the Hotel Best Alcázar.

Sincerely,

Damián Domínguez
Hotel-Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel.
Arrived at reception to very happy and helpful reception staff. Booked in quickly, parking sorted and off to room.
Lovely big room, on high floor as requested, with super views from the balcony. Large clean and fresh bathroom with toileteries refreshed daily by the happy team of maid servicewhen cleaning the room.
Off to lunch via the bar. Again very happy and helpful staff. Lucas especially is a genuine ambassador not only for this hotel but for the entire group. Very comfortable area both at the bar, in the lounge and on the terrace area.
The restaurant is huge but also welcoming. The food choice is really good and varied. Lots of salad dishes, hot and cold meats, fish, veges, rice and pastas.
Staff attentive and all do a brill job keeping tables cleared and customers served.
Once more people booked in Animation were happy keeping the children busy and also keeping the adults entertained later in the evening.
The location of the hotel is very quiet and away from the seafront. The service bus was quite useful.
Can't wait to spend time in this hotel and sister hotels in the future.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NorfolkHewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Best Alcazar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Sue H,

We greatly appreciate the time taken to share your comments.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays with us.
Sincerely hope to see you again at our establishment on your next visit to La Herradura.

Sincerely,

Damián Domínguez
Hotel-Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Great hotel situated on a hill overlooking the bay in Almunecar.Nice rooms balconies and sea views.Great indoor pool,and fabulous outdoor heated pool,but the best thing about this hotel was the food,fabulous extensive buffet breakfasts and dinners.Underground parking available for €8 a night.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Best Alcazar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear john o,

We thank you for the time you have spent sharing your opinion about your recent stay at hotel Best Alcázar.
Your opinion helps us to continue improving our services.

We hope you come back soon to visit us.

Best regards,

Damían Domínguez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

This is one of those hotels I'd never go to based on the property and it's facilities alone. Like many hotels I've stayed in the staff save the hotel. Firstly Ruth on the front desk did everything she could you make our stay pleasant and easier. She was always available to give us guidance and sometimes just to say hello and check on us. It helped that Ruth spoke good English. All staff at the front desk were very helpful.
Then the staff in the dinner hall. Again most staff were pleasant and helpful. Miriam provided us great service and a smile every day she was there. She did her best to engage us and help us even under the pressure of a full in dinner service.
Now down to the property. The entrance, dinner hall and entertainment area along with the rooms are dated. The entrance hall isn't the most welcoming.
The rooms are dated however were clean. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. There isn't an iron in the room and for that matter no iron in the while hotel. Instead you are expected to use their laundry facilities which isn't something you want to do to iron t shirts and bottoms for kids which just need a light iron. I can understand not having one in the room however would expect the hotel to have a few irons for guests.
Our dinner was included however we found vegetarian choice limited. The regular sliced potatoes and chips plus spaghetti with sauce were the basis of vegetarian choices. The fish along with the vegetables were very bland. Twice we got some good grilled fish however that was full of bones so very fiddly. Water wasn't included and we were expected to pay for bottled water. The deserts were virtually the same every day as was the fruit and joghurt selection. I've been to similar hotels with all inclusive packages and they have had a much better spread. The management really need to look into improving the food options.
My kids didn't go to the kids club as there wasn't anyone that spoke or understood English properly. They love going to kids clubs and it was a shame that they couldn't enjoy it here. We entertained them in the indoor pool which was the best feature of this hotel.
The bedrooms as I mentioned above are dated however they were clean. The room maintenance staff was excellent and tidied up our room every day with a smile.
The beds were uncomfortable and the weirdest pillows I've ever come across. The pillows were thin and long; one pillow across the width of a bed. I had to try and double up one pillow to make it comfortable for me.
I could go on about the poor or insufficient facilities of a four star hotel. But I can't see anything happening about this as I've seen responses from the hotel to others which just say thanks for your feedback we'll bear it in mind.
So do go if you don't find anything better. The staff won't let you down.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Raheel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Best Alcazar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Raheel A,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied regarding your stay, especially with the vegetarian food choice, the coffee and tea facilities in the room and our miniclub. We are sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
We appreciate your kind comments on our staff, they work really hard to give all our guests the best service.
Be sure that we will take your comments into account in order to improve our services.

Best regards,


Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We stayed here for just 2 nights, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We visited at the end of October, and had the half board option. The room had 2 double beds, balcony, bathroom, mini bar, plenty of wardrobe space and was spotlessly clean. The food here was superb - the best of all the Best Hotels we have stayed in. The entertainment that we saw during our stay was only for the children, as it was UK half term, so there was a lot of ‘little screaming darlings’. Our only complaint was that the private car park was a steep 10€ a night. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kaise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2017, Manager at Best Alcazar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Kaise70;

Thank you so much for sharing your kind comments after staying at hotel Best Alcazar. We are happy that our services met your expectations and enjoyed your holidays. We take note of your remarks in order to keep improving our services.

Best regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews