We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Self-catering at its best with views that would...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Penthouse

Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Moorish Castle at night Views from the front terrace at dusk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Front Terrace with views of the Moorish Castle
Moorish Castle at night
Views from the front terrace at dusk
Back Terrace with views of the town and mountians
The sitting room
Kitchen
Building Facade
Foyer
The main bedroom
Views of the castle and town
El Chorro Lakes
El Chorro Lakes at dusk
The whitewashed town of Alora
El Chorro - the climbers' paradise
El Chorro's gorge
Fishing in El Chorro
Alora Town Square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alora, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geraldine...
Simcoe, Canada
1 review
“Self-catering at its best with views that would be very hard to beat.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The Penthouse was a perfect place for us to escape part of our harsh Canadian winter. As other reviewers have noted, Helen and Steve could not be more helpful, kind or efficient. From the initial booking to helping us on the first leg of our journey back home they could not have been more generous with their time.

The apt. is spacious and very nicely appointed. I shall miss having dinner in the solarium surrounded by the incredible views. The website photos do not exaggerate. And if you're lucky enough to be there when the oranges and lemons are in season having fresh morning juice is a serious bonus. Excellent juicer provided!

We thoroughly enjoyed food shopping in Alora and found the shopkeepers helpful and accomodating. Lots of fresh fruit and veg. shops as well as some of the best bread I've ever had.

Having our rental car down in the public lot was not a problem but do be aware it needs to be moved from the two top tiers on Sunday night in order to accomodate the Monday market.

There is so much to do in the Andalucia area that even though we were in Alora for a month it was hard to fit it all in; El Chorro, Antequerra, Ronda, Marbella (the road down to this area is a must-see) and Malaga itself. Taking the train into Malaga is very easy, efficient and reasonably priced.

I would like to think that we got the "real feel" of Spain in Alora without all the touristy stuff that can be off putting. Alora is a "working man's white village." We felt very comfortable there. Highly recommended.

One caution; if you have seriouis mobility issues this may not be the place for you as the streets are very steep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views from balconies.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Countryph...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Everything about our stay was fabulous. Booking was straightforward and Helen and Steve responded promptly to all of our queries. We did not want to hire a car so arranged for Helen and Steve to collect us from the airport. We were collected at arrivals and taken on a quick drive around the town before they took us up to the big Mercadona to do a shop. At the apartment, they had also left a really generous welcome pack, which we had been able to choose ourselves before arrival.

The apartment itself is fantastic. It had everything we needed for our stay and the views are stunning – we never tired of looking out across at the surrounding hills. Having the lift go straight into the apartment was a fabulous novelty!

Alora is a great town – very Spanish and the locals are friendly and put up with our limited and somewhat suspect grasp of the language. We did not miss having a car because, although some of the streets are very steep, everything within Alora is within walking distance.

Helen and Steve collected us again at the end of our stay and took us back to the airport. They were great hosts – not intrusive but helpful and willing to give advice when we bumped into them in the town.

We aim to re-book for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and location
Liked least: That we had to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York_UKRo...
York, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very high standards.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Previous reviews compliment Helen and Steve on their high standards. I would confirm that nothing is exaggerated. We were met at the car park, suit cases transferred to their car and we were then given a tour of the town, identifying where the supermarkets, tapas bars and restaurants were, before taking us to the apartment itself. The apartment is exactly as described and is clean, well presented and with all facilities needed. It is located within a very easy few minutes walk to the centre of town and the free car park where we left the car. It is probably easier to park there than to attempt the very narrow streets and the one way system. The welcome pack is personally selected from a list provided in advance and as far as content is concerned is above the average. At the end of the holiday Helen and Steve once again collected us in their car and drove us back, with suit cases, to the car park.
Alora is not a touristy town, but you do get a sense of a truly Spanish way of life. It's location is ideal for visiting the likes of Ronda and El Chorro and we tagged on an overnight stay in Granada which only took 1 hour 40 minutes to get there and 1 hour 30 minutes to get back from Granada to Malaga airport. All in all a very pleasant chill out week and only enhanced by the quality of the apartment and the personal service provided by Helen and Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service from Helen and Steve
Liked least: Restaurants and tapas bars not all open every night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uknikita
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, highly recommended”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

we really enjoyed our week stay at Alora, lovely appartment, all facilities, beautiful views. Lots to see in the local area. Excellent train services, but would recommend you hire a car to visit the Lakes at El Chorro, and generally explore off the beeaten track. Great hosts in Helen and Steve, they guided us about the local area, which was very useful. This his a holiday where you can go 'out of season' in the cooler months and really explore all that Andalucia has to offer, climbing, biking walking, kayaking etc, or just chill out and enjoy the slower pace of a traditional unspoilt Spanish town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing