We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“superb location for all activities but tired”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Waltraud House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bran, Brasov County, Central Romania, Transylvania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
adamr981
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“superb location for all activities but tired”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

First a word of warning.... we landed at Cluj airport which is a 6 hour drive to the property, as the A3 national road (motorway) has been closed and will be for some time. It seems Bucharest is the better option.Finding the Chalet for the first time is tricky as by now it was dark, but the owner Luiza was able to guide us via mobile phone. The Chalet itself is very spacious and 2 families staying there would not get in each others way. It is also very warm so if you do go in winter, you will not be cold. Our first impression was that the Chalet was getting tired, with furniture looking tatty and needed freshening up. My wife also thought it was not the cleanest of places which leads us to the kitchen, which really lets the place down badly, and was grimy especially around the burner/cooker, which would not look out of place in a tent. For this reason we never ate in the Chalet (however the sheer low cost of eating out also helped that decision). The Wifi didn't work whilst we were there, but Luiza did her level best to remedy the matter, however i'm sure it will be working by the time of the next visitor.The best room in the house is the games room, which will be appreciated by families. What we did find curious was the lack of a path up to the entrance, and you are literally working up a grassy embankment, which i would imagine would be very slippy after heavy rainfall or ice. Also as i think a previous reviewer mentioned, a 4 x 4 vehicle is a must as the road leading up to the Chalet is very rough, and a lot of the roads that it will be necessary to use to see the natural beauty are also terrible. Also, i was disappointed to find that there was no information folder about the Chalet or about any of the attractions in the surrounding areas. The main reason to rent this place is the million dollar view, the mountains are beautiful and can be seen from almost every room. Also the location is superb, with a national park on your doorstep and Bran castle 1 mile away,along with a selection of Bars and restaurants which serve reasonable food at even more reasonable prices. Within 30 minutes drive, you will see some of the most beautiful scenery that matches anywhere in the world, and other sites of interest (and there are many) are within a not to distant drive. Romania itself is so cheap ( to Western Europeans at least) you will not believe how much you have been charged for your meal and drinks, and almost all other things you can imagine are a lot cheaper. The final word however, goes to the Romanians themselves. Part of the reason we traveled here was to sample the legendary hospitality i had heard so much about off other Romanians working in the UK, Greece etc. The reality is totally different, with the majority of the people miserable at best, with a few we encountered downright rude. As Romania is trying very hard to promote tourism, i would suggest that they try to lighten up a bit and act like they want tourists there, and actually smile. Whilst i appreciate it is generally a poor country and not long out of communism, i have been far poorer countries and have been met with warmth. You will not get this here unfortunately. Having said that, Luiza and her neighbor Carmen, were very helpful and friendly. On the balance of my comments, i would happily recommend this destination as despite the long faces of the locals, you will have a fantastic holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Adam, indeed, parts of our house are tired, and we are working continuously to improve the stay conditions. Now we have a total new kitchen, with modern furniture and new equipment. Also in the living area we've changed the old corner sofa with a new one and a tv support on trends. Step by step Adam, we are working on the path in the garden, so we are waiting for your visit again in the summer, as you said, to enjoy the view in better conditions.
Thank you,
Luiza
PS The hospitality is genuine, but in this area of Bran, the locals needs time to accept other people like us too, for example.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TTickoo
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
“Home from home in wonderful countryside with a view to die for.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed with our extended family at the end of July.The house is very comfortable and spacious with the most amazing view of the mountains. It is very peaceful if you like country sounds which we do! It is a good base for exploring local sites.You are well outside the hustle and bustle of Bran but can easily access restaurants too.
We self catered mostly and found a good supermarket in Rasnov.You will need a car really unless you just want to chill out.Beds are comfortable. Kitchen basic with 2 ring burner , microwave but we still managed to put together some feasts using local ingredients.Everything is incredible value for money. if you like red wine the Feteasca Neagra is just lovely .I preferred Romanian wine to French! I would love to return again especially to see other seasons when we would do some walking in the beautiful countryside.Luiza the owner speaks good English and is very welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious comfortable accommodation in a great location.
Liked least: Heat at night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressive homely rental with amazing view”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived late after our drive (9 hours) from the Delta area of Romania to Bran, to find Luiza waiting to greet us. A note of caution regarding the lane leading up to the property. Its steep and rough with large pot holes and a nasty steep bit by the gate entrance that could be a problem with a small fully laden car.To say we were impressed is an understatement. On our first ever trip to Romania, we had spent the first week in a rather basic and uncomfortable accommodation on the Delta, so we collectively (there are 7 of us) sighed, maybe even purred when we saw Waltraud House.
It is a large spacious house made for a large group (sleeps 10) or separate groups. As such on the first floor there is a huge living/seating area, with very comfortable lounging ,dining, T.V. and kitchenette area. The kitchenette is reasonably equipped but not overly so by UK standards with a small two burner cooker, microwave and strangely low level sink drainer. There is ample crockery and a nice prep area/ bar looking out into the dining area.There is also a shower/toilet.
This leads out onto the nice patio area, where we had several BBQ's and sat gazing at the incredible view of the mountains.
Each room is pretty much self contained, the double room at the top of the house (we found this got very hot at night as the day time temp was around 35) has a separate shower toilet. Downstairs there are 3 double bedrooms, one en-suite. There is a large bathroom/toilet with two sinks for the other two rooms. All the bedrooms and shower/bath/toilets are clean and very nicely decorated. The beds and bedding are also good quality and very comfortable.
In the basement there is a games room complete with billiard table and also a toilet.
Overall this is absolutely great value for money, its not 5 star but is comfortable feels like home and is fantastically located for the view of the mountains and ski slope in the distance.
Luiza, the owner, is lovely showed us around initially and said if we had any queries we should just text her, which we did a couple of times to get some information.
There are lots of things to see in the vicinity and Waltraud House is an ideal base to visit such interesting places as Brasov (lovely old town and famous church), Rasnov (castle on the hill), Sigasoara (impressive castle and old town), Bran (obviously Dracula/Vlad's castle, although town/market is a bit tacky) and the lovely ski resort above Bran.
Eating out locally, although very cheap , is a bit limited and bland to be honest and we cooked ourselves mostly. You will need to go to Brasov for lots of better eateries and better menus.
As a footnote everything is really cheap (cities, and ski resort more expensive) and the good old British Pound goes a long way, the weather in summer is very hot and the people are nice enough.
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large spacious living area + patio
Liked least: Access Lane
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TudorTC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best views in the area!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is probably one of the coziest places I've been to in the Romanian mountain side. It has a view you'd wish you could take home, the rooms have just about whatever you need for a good night sleep - if you are a 5* type of person, this might not be your cup of tea, but if you want to relax, this is the place you'd wanna be. It's clean, it's big and can accommodate groups of up to 10 people. All in all, I loved it here and I will be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: My stay was way too short.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you, our desire is to make Waltraud a really home for each of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmostFif...
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Although our stay at this beautiful home started out a bit shaky (we arrived late at night, surrounded by complete darkness and had a difficult time identifying the exact property), we were THRILLED with our accommodation, as well as the location!

We did not have phone service abroad and really, our only communication was through TripAdvisor and my rental inbox. Luiza was very prompt about responding to all my questions in a very short time.

As for the accommodation itself, it was out of this world! The house is nestled in the heart of Bran, just a few minutes from Bran Castle, but far removed from the busy area. If you like someone unique in a quaint village setting, with views that leave you breathless, this is the place for you! The house has several rooms on multiple floors with several bathrooms (we occupied the attic bedroom with a private bathroom), all with beautiful wood paneling and charming contemporary, rustic deco. The main floor has a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, living room and den, with room for LOTS of people to find their "own space". The common area is SURROUNDED by large windows, overlooking the mountains in the distance, and a lower level boasts a sitting area and pool table for added fun. During our stay, only one other couple stayed in the house and really, we didn't even know they were there.

I do have one or two "suggestions" that would have helped during our stay, but really, we had a wonderful experience. First, I would (please!) MARK the residence with perhaps a sign on the outer gate to indicate "Waltraud House." Although we received great directions from Luiza via email (my rental inbox), we were unable to easily confirm we were at the right place, even when we were ON the property. We drove up the street (really a rocky/hilly dirt path) and asked several neighbors, but none could speak English and we were afraid of trespassing on someone else's property. The gate was closed, and to really "see" the house to get a visual confirmation in the dark, we would have had to be INSIDE the gate (which would not be so nice to do if we were on the wrong property!) My 2nd suggestion relates to my first - we spent long days traveling and arrived just before dark (maybe just before 7pm)....and here, IT IS DARK! By the time we thought we had identified the correct place (after asking neighbors and going up and down the hill a few times), it was PITCH BLACK outside....there are NO LIGHTS on the outside of the property whatsoever. Even with the light of my cell phone, it was difficult to see anything. It had rained all day long before our arrival, and I was wearing leather boots (not hiking boots) and slid quite a bit on the wet, grassy hill surrounding the house. Luiza left the key for us under a mat, but on the upper deck where I could not get to in my boots. Perhaps if an outdoor light was left on and the key left somewhere on the lower level for that door there, it would have been easier.

However, despite our "adventure" in Bran, I would definitely stay here again on future visits, but would strongly recommend the few suggestions to be taken into consideration.

Thank you for helping us have a memorable time in Bran! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and the amazing set up of the home
Liked least: The difficulty in finding the exact house and the difficulty of getting to the door and the key that opened it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
We are constantly trying to improve the accomodation for our guests and we are definitely taking into account your suggestions. Thank you and we are waiting for your next staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing