We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Memorial of the Victims of Communism and of the Resistance
Open today: 09:30 - 18:30
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Memorial of the Victims of Communism and of the Resistance
from US$173,07
More Info
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
205
63
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
63
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews romanian history communist era history lesson guided tour few hours impressive museum piece of history english speakers anti communist communist times young people different aspects overwhelming experience museum tells eye opening foreign visitors life under communism
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Though the former Sighet prison exhibits are mostly in Romanian, all of the presentations have been very well done, and translations in many languages are available. Important to visit this site to truly understand the history and oppression this country endured.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We learned so much about the history of Romania from this museum. There is a written guide in English that summarizes the different displays in the museum. Difficult but interesting time in Romanian history.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank 311katharinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

I really liked it! They caption are all in Romanian but I received a book guide in my language (Italian) where everything was explained very well.
The museum is located in a ex jail which gives the tourist the opportunity to "enter in history".
I really recommend it if you visit the city.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Camilla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Well worth the visit as a reminder of how ruthless and brutal we can be to each other in the name of political goals. If I read Romania I probably would have spent twice as long here. Don't miss the chapel and sculpture in the courtyard. No language is required to appreciate that space.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The comunism was somerhing horible. This location means a lot for romanian history. The prison and the personal clothes of the prisoners is like a piece of horror movie. Unfortunately it was real.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank kaghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews