We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
49
92
84
61
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
92
84
61
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacks bar indoor pool was lovely weekend break pool view hotel is great the bus bad reviews portable air conditioning unit base to explore bit dated rooms were cleaned plenty of hot water living area central location beans rooms are basic bugibba square
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very relaxed easy going place,a bit dated in the rooms but never had a problem with this, staff are wonderful and for the price it is 5*will go back anytime we have stayed here twice it is 600 yards from the centre of Buggiba which is busy but an ideal place for a base with good bus service to travel anywhere in Malta but the buses are very busy

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank GoPlaces14723853654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.
We have notice a slight improvement in the bus service, though perhaps it would be good if guests rallied round and communicated in writing with the bus company, that way things will improve even more.
We are glad that you appreciated the hotel and the staff in particular.
Best wishes to you,

Graham and his colleagues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a week in October and the people in the hotel couldn't help us enough.
The room was massive with 4 beds and there was only two of us.
We went all inclusive and food was plentiful and never any queues.
Would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JSPONTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review - your sentiments actually reflecting the majority of opinions that abound when guests are at the hotel, it just being an unfortunate quirk of human nature that negativity reigns more often than would be fair.
We hope you have a pleasant time in the run-up to Christmas and the New Year,

Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Read the reviews before I booked. Went for 5 days and came back today. First impression when I got there....looks good on the outside, reception area good. Room a bit outdated but no complaints. Bed springy but slept well. Good location. Been a few moaning about breakfast on some of the reviews but seriously breakfast was great !! Bacon, eggs, sausage, tomato, beans just to name a few items. Yes it was the same everyday but many more items to choose from so had different everyday. Staff were good and helpful. Now the not so good. Everything was great until a huge party of teens arrived ( about 30 of them ) noisy, disrespectful. Screaming, shouting, running about 4-5 am. Staff were aware of this and dealt with it. Spoilt my last 2 days but everything else perfect. Ignore the negatives people say about the bugibba hotel . its a good value for money hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.
Yes, we had to intervene and the situation at the end of your stay was not the kind we usually have at The Bugibba Hotel.
We wish you a bright future and appreciate your thoughts expressed here.

Yours,

Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

I stayed here with my wife from the 27th October to the 3rd of November on an all-inclusive basis. Firstly on a positive our room was not too bad. It was clean, the beds were a little hard, the view from the balcony was not good, but we were not overly concerned by this, as due to the price paid we did not expect perfection.

Moving on to the food on offer, this was not great, the breakfast was OK, but the lunches and dinners were much the same, much of the time the food was cold, in fact the hottest item was usually the serving spoons. The food was overcooked and the fresh bread was far from fresh. The decor in the restaurant certainly is in need of a spruce up. The bar area in the restaurant has a large brown stain down the front which to be fair just needs cleaning, or a coat of paint wouldn't go a miss! The condiments on offer salt & pepper sachets were damp, and I would have to ask would it not be cheaper to use salt and pepper pots? Although the staff in the restaurant were efficient, they looked demoralised and unhappy.

Moving on to the 2nd November we bore witness to what I could only compare to what I had learnt regarding the 1565 invasion by the Ottoman Empire in Malta, although a little tongue in cheek I digress. I have to question the management decision to allow 60 odd teenage students to stay in the hotel relatively unsupervised. For which the whole of the Friday night, they were running amok, shouting down the corridors, knocking on peoples doors, showing total lack of disregard to other guests.

The feral mob, invaded every area of the hotel breaking and vandalising, removing pictures from the walls, quite disgusting behaviour. Thankfully for us we only had to bare witness for one evening as we were leaving on the Saturday. I can only feel for the guests who had to put up with this for a further night. Why they were not ejected from the hotel after the first night was a mystery to me, surely the harm to the reputation of the hotel is not a concern for the management, which is also evident in the number of other poor reviews.

In summary, the staff are helpful, especially at reception, more so with having to deal with the issues on the Friday night, which seemed to be hampered by managements insistence to allow the mob to stay, which they disagreed with.

Malta is a lovely place, but unfortunately not The Bugibba Hotel, certainly not in our opinion a 3 star hotel as advertised. In fairness taking aside the Friday night, with some care and attention this could become a decent hotel, due to the locality and size.

Andrew B

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Culture09923328820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Andrew for your review.
We had to respond to the group and get them under control, which was lamentable considering they had five group leaders amongst them.
We are developing the hotel as you say and already the reception area has been refurbished with very comfortable armchairs and sofas. Much more is planned and being implemented, so we thank you for your input and encouragement in that respect.

Yours,

Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

My family stayed here from 27th oct to 3rd nov. One the first night they got no sleep due to running water. When they complained they were told that it was the air condition (which in their room was broken). The bathroom door would not close. They were provided with a portable air condition and the running water noise continued for the whole week. The final straw was the last night when they allowed 68 students (aged between 16-18) to stay at the hotel supervised by 5 members of staff who were all under 25 themselves. The students were running along the corridors shouting and screaming, slamming doors at night. No one was able to sleep. The people on reception were on their own and the noise continued until at least 2 in the morning. Then at 4:45 it started all over again. Basically the students had free run of the hotel. After numerous complaints to reception they resulted in emailing the manager. This hotel is an absolute JOKE!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relax21404435680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We have voiced our concerns to the group organizers and this unusual situation was lamentable. We shall continue to offer very agreeable accommodation which is popular with many guests. We hope you have a better experience the next time you have a break.

Yours,

Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews