We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment with superb views”
View from bedroom balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from bedroom balcony
kitchen and dining area Front terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
View from bedroom balcony
kitchen and dining area
Front terrace
Main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bugibba, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Bradderso...
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment with superb views”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family loved this apartment, it literally has everything you need provided for you...it's just so well equipped throughout and to a high standard too. But the best bit is the large terrace where you can just sit with a glass of wine and watch the beautiful sunsets, or the boats setting off in glorious sunshine through the day...it just could not have a better position.

Frances is a dream, she's so nice and would quickly deal with any problems although we really didn't have any significant issues at all. You can just tell that she is dedicated to making sure that everyone who stays in her apartments get the very best service and have a great holiday.

There's not much else to add to the rave reviews on here, except to say they're all accurate. There are a lot of sub standard hotels in Malta, its so good to find some where modern, clean and bright.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and positive comments. It is really good to hear you have had a wonderful holiday and found Blue Horizon Penthouse to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back on your next holiday in Malta.
Kind regards
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location and lovely apartment.”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a superb apartment. Perfect location and the views from the balconies, all around the bay, cannot be bettered. The apartment is clean, modern with good sized bedrooms. Surprisingly cool with the sea breeze blowing through and it is easy to spend many hours watching the boats etc. while deciding what to do for the day. Buses on the door step and a decent mini market a short stroll away. It is really hard to find any negative points about this apartment with just the spiral staircase being slightly awkward for anybody not too nimble, but apart from that, just perfect. Frances, the owner, could not be more helpful, especially when the water supply was turned off they quickly switched us over to the storage tanks and everything was fine. No fault of the owner, just an unexpected switch off by the local authority for a day and all dealt with very quickly. I can't "big" this apartment up enough and for the money, you will be hard pushed to have the space and views anywhere else on the island. Highly recommended. Thank you Frances for looking after us and making the second half of our honeymoon such a pleasure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at Blue Horizon Penthouse. It was great having you stay and we are most grateful for your comments and recommendations to future guests.
Kind regards
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrie S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“MARVELLOUS PENTHOUSE WITH AMAZING VIEWS ACROSS BAY”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed an amazing 18 days in Blue Horizon Penthouse Middle April/beginning May 2017. The penthouse 2-bed apartment is a duplex, with the bedrooms being on the lower level, and the kitchen/lounge and very large balcony overlooking the Bay on the very top of the building. The master bedroom is facing the waterfront and has a lovely little balcony. Each night, we opened up the window just a crack to hear the sound of the waves, showing how close we were to the sea. The views from the master bedroom are spectacular. The 2nd bedroom is at the back of the property, but doesn’t have much of a view tbh, but still, a very spacious and comfortable double room. There is a washing machine on the back balcony of the 2nd bedroom.

To access the top floor, there is a spiral staircase, so if you have mobility issues, this might be a bit of a problem for you. I am partially sighted, and found this stairway no problem whatsoever.

On the top floor, the kitchen is brilliantly equipped, even having a mini food processor and soup/puree liquidiser. It has a very large balcony at the front with breathtaking views.has a table and 4 chairs, and a large bbq What is so lovely about the location of this property is that it is very near the corner of the street, thus having nearly a 250 degree view left and right across the Bay rather than just a forward view. We noted that there was a 3-tier building right next to our building, right on the corner, which did not impede our view whatsoever, but even if this was to have further floors built on it, this would not impair the view from our Balcony very much at all.

This top floor also has a large back balcony which we used for sunbathing on a regular basis. In April and May, the sun comes up on the back balcony from about 9am, and is very sheltered and has a fair amount of privacy. So, all in all, the property boasts 4 balconies, which we think is quite an unusual feature.

There is a large double shower on the lower floor where the bedrooms are situated which was very adequate for our needs, and beautifully finished.

We found that Frances the owner was an absolute delight. Our first week was a bit chilly which was unusual for Malta in April, and Frances had already thought ahead for our comfort, and had put fleece sheets on the beds, which made us very cosy indeed – but she had also put some linen sheets in one of the cupboards just in case the weather got warmer or if we wanted cotton instead of fleece. She changed our bed linen and towels weekly. She had also put some milk, water, wine and soft drink in the fridge. Frances kept us informed prior to our visit, and organised taxis to and from the airport (E25 euro each way). We also liked the fact that we only needed to pay a deposit to secure the apartment and paid the rest of the balance in cash on our arrival – a very safe way for us Tripadvisor Travellers!!

If you look in the footstool of the lounge, you will find loads of information, leaflets, books about Malta, including crayons and colouring books for any children who visit with their families.
The lounge has a wall-mounted tv, with a fair amount of English channels and the apartment has great wifi…..but who would want to watch TV when you’ve got the most glorious and amazing view from the apartment?

We thought that the apartment is brilliantly situated, far enough away from the dreadful music booming out of one of the buildings in Bugibba square down the road (about a 5 minute stroll), so nice and quiet location, but close enough to all the amenities, and just opposite is the jetty for the pier where the Hornblower and other tourist boats sail. It’s also close to the bus station and bus stops (Moll being the closest, just across the road by the pier). We loved the restaurant across the road for food (Angelos II), but only a 5 minute stroll will also get you to many other brilliant restaurants, right on the Bay, all at very reasonable prices.

All in all, an amazing place, brilliant price, but just as important, the most wonderful and genuine Owner one could wish to meet – thank you Frances.

Just a tip on buses from the apartment– if you come for just a week, and don’t intend to do bus travel every single day, just buy a 12 travel card (either from the shop about 50 yds from the apt on the opposite side of the road or from the Bus station, which is a 10 minute walk down the promenade. This will cost you E15, but if there are just the two of you, you can use this card together so no need to get one each (just tap the card twice on the bus, but this is for a total of 12 journeys). However, if you pay for a single daily ticket each, it will cost you E1.50 for ANY length of journey or destination. We noted that these tickets have a time limit on them, i.e. approx 1.5 – 2 hour hours’ duration on them, so if you wanted to transfer, i.e. from Bugibba to Valetta and then take another bus to another duration, you can still use this E1.50 ticket so long as it’s still valid within that time limit, whereas if you used your 12 journey card, you would have to tap the card each bus transfer, so you might be better off just buying a 1.5 euro ticket. We were there for a longer period of 7 days, so bought a E21 ticket each, which gave us unlimited travel to anywhere in Malta and Gozo as well, for a full 7 day period, which gave us complete freedom to hop on or off any bus, for any duration, so even if we got on the wrong bus, no problem. We found it much more convenient and in the long run cheaper for our particular needs. As Valetta is the capital of the Island, it’s the most visited, and we found that if you went between 9-11.30, from the bus station, you would probably be standing on the bus for the whole hourly duration of the journey, but we discovered if you go from 12 noon onwards (they go every 20 minutes), you are very likely to get a seat. Likewise, don’t travel back from 4.30 – 6.30 – it’s a nightmare!!! Hope this helps.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Horizon Penthouse. I appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future.
Kind regards & warmest wishes
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Coll
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful apartment with lovely views”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week’s stay at the wonderful Blue Horizon Penthouse. The apartment was perfect for us, a good location with amazing views of St Paul’s Bay, and plenty of restaurants and bars only a short walk away.

Booking was easy, Frances replied to our emails promptly, and payment of the deposit was by Paypal, with the balance paid in cash on arrival. Frances also organised taxis to and from the airport for €25, which I would recommend.

The apartment is safe and secure, being on the top floor and accessible by a key-operated lift. It is well equipped, with all the essential kitchen appliances, as well as a microwave, and also has a washing machine and a DVD player, needed as there were only two English channels on the TV. The wifi reception was good. The apartment was spotlessly clean on arrival, and Frances had left us milk and beer in the fridge.

We should mention that the apartment is on two levels, with two bedrooms and the bathroom on the level, and then a spiral staircase leads up to the lounge/kitchen area and the large balcony, which may be a challenge for the less able.

We would certainly stay in the apartment again, and would recommend it to our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for placing a review regarding your stay at Blue Horizon.
I am glad you found apartment and amenities to your satisfaction. we appreciate that you recommend the Penthouse to family and friends and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful welcome to a Fantastic Penthouse Apartment.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From the moment we first made contact with Frances she was so helpful and friendly. Our taxi was booked for us both ways and when we arrived she was there to greet us. The apartment has everything you could possibly need - it is a home from home with one major exception - the view! It is fabulous.
The location is not quiet which we rather enjoyed. The local buses are frequent, cheap and air conditioned. " George's" was a great place to eat local cuisine at affordable prices
The boat trip to Gozo is worth it.
We are looking forward to going back. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony with a panoramic view.
Liked least: The air condition unit in the master bedroom is right over the bed.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and lovely comments. We hope to welcome you again to Blue Horizon Penthouse.
Kind regards
Frances
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing