We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best homemade pasta”
Review of Osteria La Scala

Osteria La Scala
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Soave
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 October 2018

This town is lovely and the castle very interesting. We stopped for lunch and the house special for lunch pumpkin ravioli. It was the best I have ever eaten. The menu was interesting - not the usual pizza place. Also ordered swordfish carpaccio. The desserts were fabulous. Inside the place is ancient with marble columns and a historic bar. Many locals were eating there.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018

If you travel in Italy A4 (I was going from MIlano to Venezia) this restaurant could be an ideal spot for a short break. Located in the old town of Soave, right after the old city walls with great view on the castle and the town if you seat outside.
The food is simple but nice. My wife tries beef lever (regional specialty) and I took pasta with hare. Both dishes were fresh and tasty. And, of course, great variety of local wines including white Soave.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maxim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

The food was absolutely delicious, and the setting just inside the city walls is very picturesque. Service was very good and prices were reasonable: absolutely recommend for an excellent lunch.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dven8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We climbed to the castle to find it closed for lunch, so we went back down and had lunch ourselves. The staff were friendly and the waiter kindly tolerant of my bad Italian. We don’t drink and try to avoid meat but this place offers plenty of both. Their wine selection looked staggering! We had a bruschetta antipasto that had something I’ve never seen. They served a red onion marmelade that was incredible! We ordered gnocchi and lasagna. The lasagna was very cheesy but a bit heavy. The gnocchi were really good. They had shrimp and a sauce made, I think, with asparagus. Total bill about €32.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank JD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Have eaten here several times, this time with 3 colleagues.
The restaurant is within the walls of the town and has a welcoming atmosphere, with people using it as a meeting place.

Well stocked bar and cellar with a casual feel.
Good mix of traditional food and really excellent wine. Had the massive T-bone steak between 2.
Will return as many times as possible!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Stourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Scala also viewed

Soave, Province of Verona
Soave, Province of Verona
 
Soave, Province of Verona
Soave, Province of Verona
 
Soave, Province of Verona
San Bonifacio, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing