We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 763)
Filter reviews
1 763 results
Traveller rating
1 005
505
157
61
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 005
505
157
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews department store front desk convention center valet parking high ceilings within a mile radius valet staff the executive lounge shuttle service historic building free shuttle business trip the entire staff very nice hotel enjoyed my stay broad street miller
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 1 763 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The best part about this hotel are the people, incredibly friendly and helpful - they make you feel like family. We stayed in a club level room which was worth the extra since breakfast was included and also soft drinks/snacks are served in the evening. The room was modern with high ceilings, making it feel spacious and light. We ate lunch in the bar area, food was good and service friendly. They also provide complimentary bottles of water in your room in the fridge. We used the shuttle once to pick us up and we waited about 10 mins so very efficient. The location is great for visiting the State Capital, but further away from Carytown and the Museum of Fine Art (a must to visit). The negatives were minor, but are the reason I didn't give a 5 rating. The first room we were allocated was being used, so a mix up on the housekeeping side. Cleanliness was good but not excellent, towels had marks on them and bathrooms were not pristine. Also the noise in the hallway was bad over the weekend at night time, it sounded like a group of people were running up and down screaming, it was loud! Valet parking at $23 a night was expensive considering the price of nearby parking lots.

A special shout out to James B who was a breath of fresh air and went above and beyond.

Room tip: A club level room is worth the extra
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank freqworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Dear Freq World Traveler;

We are glad you made a stop in Richmond and to our Hilton. It was nice to read your review and glad you enjoyed many features of the hotel, as well our team. I'll thank James B for his efforts, as well advise Housekeeping on your notes also. We hope to see you back again soon. John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Went to Richmond for my Nephews wedding. We stayed on the executive floor. The rooms was spacious, very clean, and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable and they had very nice pillows.

Breakfast was delightful they served a variety to hot and cold dishes and the snack that was available all day was a huge variety of drinks, cookies, chips, fruits, nuts.

And one of the best thing about this hotel they have shuttle busses that takes you around so you do not have to drive. Parking is difdicult. I don't remember the exact amount of miles that they will take you and they will come back and pick you up when you are ready to return.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Dear Heather;

Thanks for your visit and feedback on your stay. It was great to see you had a spectacular time at our hotel, and enjoyed our Executive Level and lounge. Our shuttles do go within a "2-mile" radius of the hotel, and this will get you to most places in Richmond you would want to see. We hope to see you back again, maybe not a wedding visit, but just a Richmond visit. Sincerely, John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

In general all was ok, the people were nice. I just didn't feel like I was staying in a Hilton hotel. Thought it would be of somewhat better quality. Maybe the Hilton brand is a bit exaggerated. We used Hilton points so the cost was minimal.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank charless923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Dear Charles;

We thank you for your visit and feedback. I sent a personal note to learn how we can meet your needs and "be special" on a future visit. We strive to listen and learn, and be all we can be for all our guests staying with us. Looking forward to your email or call and hope we can "make it right" on a future visit. Thanks for your visit and feedback. Sincerely, John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Great location in downtown Richmond. Front desk staff very organized and efficient. Restaurant convenient for breakfast, which was good. The room was a nice size, with very comfortable bed. Valet parking reasonably priced for downtown location, and valets were quick and helpful. The only (small) downside is the layout of the guest floors -- the rooms can be a pretty long hike from the elevator.

Room tip: Look closely at the map if a long walk from the elevator would be troublesome -- some rooms are pretty far.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your "Excellent" feedback. Being in the former historic Miller & Rhoads department store and with 250 guest rooms, you certainly can have a longer walk to your room if you are on the Grace St. side as you noted. We do have rooms closer to the elevator, and other personal preferences we can address on future visits. I would highly recommend you enroll in Hilton Honors (if you have not yet) and this would allow for such comments as "close to elevator", low / high floor, exterior views, and other requests as needed. We do hope to see you back again, and we will strive to reduce your hike to your room. Thanks for your feedback, as it also helps future guests to our facility. Sincerely, John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This hotel in Richmond VA includes very helpful and friendly staff and beautiful guest rooms. Let the van drivers give you advice regarding restaurants -- they know what's good! Fun pumpkin carving contest added to the holiday atmosphere!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank desbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

I was glad to see you were here when we displayed our Department Pumpkin Carvings for Halloween. The exciting news is two of our pumpkins won the HRI Lodging (Our Parent Company) carving / decorating contest and they will be giving a donation to two charities of our choice. We hope to see you back soon !

Sincerely, John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews