We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
75
81
21
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
81
21
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la baja swimming pool value for money great view bay sunset views sea village coast road english entrance
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018

nice middle class hotel with spectacular location on a cliff. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was a family room for 4 people with a fantastic view from the balcony on the bay of Santa Caterina di Pittinuri. With the windows open, you can hear the waves on the beach all night, something I find great (I come from a landlocked country). Room with everything you need, furnished simply, but nicely, clean. Big bathroom.

Pool area nice, albeit a bit in need of renovation. They provide deck chairs and sun umbrellas, but no towels as far as I could see (we brought our own towels anyway so we did not check properly). There is also a pool bar with nice drinks :-) Pool rather big considering the fact that it is on a cliff.

Restaurant for dinner: very good food with a great view. Restaurant furnished nicely in Italian style. Staff very friendly.
Breakfast buffet with a good choice.

There is a free wifi, but it only worked in the area of the front desk, not in our room.

The beach is accessible via a street and steps (going downhill steeply and up again afterwards ;-) We did not go there. From above, the beach looked nice, but not very wide. The waves were rather strong, which might be an issue with smaller children.

We used the hotel to go visit the Sinis Peninsula with the beaches and the excavation area of Tharros.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DerReisekoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The house is located in one of the most beautiful places on the beach !
Hikes around are great and within 10-3 drive you may reach further attractions.
The food is great and so is the service.
Front desk speaks decent English during the days ( not nights) and helps a lot in any matter!
The only two issues which must be improved are the beds which it's mattress are awe full!
The smell in the corridors could have been improved with some frequent windows opening.
The rooms where clean and all have great view!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank 435ramil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We recently visited Sardegna for the first time with some Italian friends, who stayed at a local house in San Vero Milis. We decided to search for a close-by hotel, and given that it was high season (August), nearly everything was booked but we happened upon the Hotel La Baja, and it was exactly what we needed! It's located in a quiet little town surrounding a bay, with just a few restaurants. So if you are looking for a bit of an escape during the busy season, it's just perfect. The hotel is small and a bit older, but still well maintained and clean, with a gorgeous pool overlooking the bay. We were even allowed to bring our friends and their kids who were not guests of the hotel to enjoy the pool one day as long as we purchased a drink, so they were very accommodating. The staff were very sweet and always there to help us, even though we spoke very little Italian and they didn't speak much English. The daily breakfast was a perfect way to start the day, and it was so nice to gaze out over the bay while eating, watching the early morning swimmers or paddleboarders heading out. The bay has almost no waves, so it's PERFECT for paddleboarding, which you can rent down on the waterfront. There are many charming towns a quick drive away, but you'd definitely want to have a car when staying here as it's not close to much. We drove to a different beach each day of our stay, and there are so many gorgeous places to visit within a 30 minute drive.

The hotel is certainly not 5-star or luxury, so if that's what you are looking for, then it won't be for you. But it is well-maintained, clean, quaint, and located in such a perfect setting that we really enjoyed. Pro-tip: the entrance is super hard to find, even using Google maps, it took us forever. Keep driving on the main road through town up past where it might say to turn off on Google maps, and then look for a tiny sign on the road toward the top of the hill, then turn there and onto a dirt road that leads to the hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Vacation is all about the view and inn this hotel you will get the best views of the coast, village, hotel, sunset..... Not many tourist in Santa Catherina so you can enjoy the view alone. One of the best sunsets I have seen in the world!
So beautifull!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

its a good and quite hotel above the sea. rooms are clean with sea view. breafkast was ok just the basics(croissant cereals yogurt bread jam etc) best to go summer season i guess. but i want to give a lot of credit to the lady at the reception who should be noted that spoke very good English ( as not many people spoke English and couldnt communicate). and she was very polite friendly helpful on every question we had. she did her best to make sure we could enjoy our time there.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews