We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silica Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vogar(Vogar)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Base Hotel(Keflavik)
US$86
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keflavik(Keflavik)
US$398
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Suites(Keflavik)
US$1 096
US$932
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jazz(Keflavik)
US$223
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keilir(Keflavik)
US$116
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 000)
Filter reviews
1 000 results
Traveller rating
664
238
58
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
238
58
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonmain lagoonlava restauranthotel guestslava fieldsfree entryblue lagoonsilica mudminute walkflip flopsnorthern lightsmuch quietergeothermal poolspa hotelgravel pathopen until midnightchanging rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1 000 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Silica hotel for one night in March for my birthday. The hotel room was decorated in minimalist style. It had a lovely view of the lava fields covered with a fresh snow.The shower was wonderful as well as the products available. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel was having access to the smaller lagoon. We soaked for hours and didn't want to leave! The hotel also includes premium admission to the Larger lagoon as well, which we enjoyed. We had dinner at Lava and that was a wonderful experience as well. The breakfast spread was the best I've seen in all of my travels. We had a lovely stay and would return again. We would love to try the new Retreat.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well worth it if you have time to stay here. Premium entrance is ~$100/pp per day to the Blue Lagoon. Staying at the hotel will give you 2 entrance to the Lagoon with breakfast included. We got here day 1 at 830am and used the hotel geothermal pool and used the free passes the next day after checking out. They also have a small indoor pool that is connected to the outdoor pool. It was a little unfortunate that the staff was having a lifeguard training while we were there on a Saturday and couldn't relax on the lounge chairs after flying red eye, (too loud).

It was really nice to swim at the hotel pool at night, very peaceful. There is a little wooden ledge where you can lie down submerged in the pool looking up into the sky. If you're lucky enough, the area is dark enough to see the Northern lights. You can ask for wake up call if there's one.

The room is basic but very comfortable. King bed, big bathroom and balcony with amazing view. For women with long hair, I would recommend you bring your own shampoo and a lot of conditioner. The minerals from the pool water really dries your hair and they only provide body wash and conditioner container attached to the shower wall. Took 5 days to get back to normal. Breakfast provides bacon, sausage eggs, fruits cold cuts, skyr fresh waffles and more. The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner but Lava restaurant at Blue Lagoon is walking distance, They also have a fridge of sandwiches and salad that can be purchased at front desk.

Overall, a great experience. A little pricey but considering 2 days in the geothermal pool and not having to rush out was treat.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony with similar views
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Norm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was well received after 8 days in our happy campers. Very nice and comfortable beds with the bonus of having a mini blue lagoon. We had been to the blue lagoon before and decided not to go because the pool at the hotel was much nicer and way less people. Breakfast was delicious!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stylish, quiet and comfortable room overlooking the characteristic moss and boulders of the local lava field. Access to the hotel's own very warm spa pool (plus limitless face mask) was significantly more relaxing than the time spent at the Blue Lagoon. Open until 10.30pm, we could swim in it late at night. The breakfast was exceptional - loads of choice which would satisfy any person's wishes, but best of all were the freshly made waffles.

Room Tip: Whilst it is very expensive it does include access to the Blue Lagoon itself
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we have stayed at the silica for 4 years every time we come to Iceland the breakfasts have vastly improved over the years now catering for all tastes and hot food that is hot the staff are like our extended family now and the rooms super clean and warm we love the silica and to be honest the main lagoon is an experience but is now to busy to enjoy so we stay at the hotels one which is quiet and restful just what we need to wind down the restaurant of choice for us now is the fish bar and restaurant with free collection and return the owner is lovely super food for all tastes without the hefty price tag of the lava restaurant which is very over rated to be honest and to expensive the food quality is average. look forward to coming back again in October for our mini break and see our silica family x

Room Tip: all rooms have lovely views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyref1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews