We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent winter break in Iceland”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Borgarnes, West Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
LMSBH
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent winter break in Iceland”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this property in February 2015, with our 2 young children, aged 3 and 1. The property has 3 bedrooms, two of which are upstairs with a spacious toilet, and the third bedroom is a sofabed downstairs. The family shower-room is also downstairs, so it would be good if one guest had slightly more limited mobility. The shower was hot and powerful.

We were provided with a travel cot, and a stairgate was installed without us having to ask for it, which was a great boon. Also as it only had a shower, they left out a large baby bath, that even the 3 year old liked!

We had to find it in the dark, after the airline delayed us by about 1.5 hours, and we only missed the turning once, and we managed to find it from the descriptions sent by Karl. I would suggest taking a torch, just in case, as it was a little tricky to find the key place in the dark - though Karl is looking into this! The fastest way from the airport takes you through a toll tunnel costing 1,000 Kr.

The house was very comfortable, with a glorious view! The weather feels right on your door, and we had a couple of days of storms, and on one day, we didn't bother to leave the house, as it looked too horrendous outside! Borgarnes was really close, and we used the Bonus supermarket there for supplies - the cafe next door to Bonus is also very good!

We did the Golden Circle, and Karl's instructions took us over a lovely snowy landscape, which we would never have taken if Karl had not directed guests this way. We also did Snaefellsness, and Hraunfosser, all of which were a reasonable drive. We had a Kia Sportage as our hire car, which did the job nicely, and we had no problems getting up the drive, even in snow.

This was an excellent base, and I would definitely stay there again, maybe in summer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Persuading the 3 year old that he had to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base for discovering Iceland”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The house is well-equipped, clean and everything was in perfect working order.
The location is close enough to Reykjavik (one hour’s drive) to be a good base for exploring the country, though you still have the sensation of being in the wilderness (we were lucky enough to see a white-tailed eagle a few miles up the valley). I would definitely recommend the house to anyone wanting a peaceful base from which to explore Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a house with a beautiful view across an ever-changing river to mountains in the distance.”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this house and would stay there again:
it is warm, comfortable, well-provided for with seating, bedding, hot shower, cooking utensils, binoculars for watching birds from the windows, and all the stuff like pencil and paper that you have to hand at home, but don't necessarily expect to find in a holiday cottage.
it has a beautiful view across a tidal river which changes colour with the weather. We could see mountains in the distance and were happily surprised on day 5 of our stay to suddenly see Snaefellsjokull. It had been hiding in cloud until then.
The house sits at the foot of a majestic high rock face.
We arrived late, as it was half dark, half light, and it took 2 attempts to find the right road, despite the clear instructions from the owners. So don't arrive in complete darkness, would be my tip.
During our first night there, the tail end of a tropical hurricane hit, and the house trembled and creaked rather alarmingly for those of us with pessimistic tendencies used to living in a house of bricks, but it held firm and looked reassuringly very solid and well built in the morning light! Karl, the owner, was in touch by phone to check we were OK and happy with the house.
Before we left home, Karl had given helpful information about travel times and where to find provisions on the way there.
Our rented Berlingo did not cope with the gravel drive up to the house, so we parked 40m down the road - not a problem for us with plenty of teenagers to carry stuff.
It is 5 mins drive from Borganes - supermarket, coffee shop and bakery, good museum and more good views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karrrlijn...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: de omgeving, de gastvrijheid en de hottub
Liked least: niets!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing