We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful romantic hideaway in a beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rue de L'amour

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny days on the Terrace Large open plan lounge / kitchen / dining - stylish spanish fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Sunny days on the Terrace
Large open plan lounge / kitchen / dining - stylish spanish fireplace
Terrace room - top of the house
apero on the terrace - fantastique!
Cosy Lounge
Le Port - left bank with it's restaurants & cafes - water jousting
Le Chateau du Port Marseillan - Rive Droit
The beautiful port
one of many fine restaurants - just moments away
Marseillan port-side towards Sete
West from Mont St Clair Sete - along the Corniche 20kms of beautiful sandy beaches
lounge open plan - stairs
Twin Bedroom
Blue-room 1st Fl dbl bedroom
Marseillan Tuesday market
Fabulous Beach Bars!
Roquebrun a micro-climate in the hills just 1hr away, great for canoeing & kayaking
Bouzigues oysters & Picpoul - where Rick Stein discovered the worlds best oysters
local olives and produce are plentiful at the markets or at our local shops
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marseillan, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Chezaban
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Several years must have passed since the photos of this property were taken. We found it shabby, grubby and uncomfortable. Some of the items we would mention are broken/uneven ceramic tiles on the bathroom floor (dangerous to bare feet), a shower curtain black with mould, dirty fingerprints around the loo door handle (no basin to wash your hands in there either!), dangerous steep stairs with no handrail, no shutters or air con so it was too hot to sleep, nasty smells coming from bathroom when shower was used, dingy un-ironed bedding, old crockery, grubby oven, the lime green cushions (shown in pic) for the wooden seating on the terrace were missing, wifi didnt work to begin with, I could go on. There are better places to stay than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the house in Marseillan.
Liked least: The bedding, the lack of cleanliess, the smelly bathroom, the lack of shutters or air con.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2012
This review is not a fair representation of our property, which is also our second home. We care a great deal for this very special place and frequently invest in updates and improvements. The pictures are current and an accurate representation of the house.

We’re obviously concerned by these comments, especially as we always urge guests to contact us if there are any problems. The only issue mentioned during their stay was the wifi log-in which we helped rectify. On departure they emailed us to say they’d “Had a great time. Marseillan lovely as ever though very hot!!!”

We work hard to ensure the house is clean and hygienic, so something may have gone amiss that week. But we needed to know at the time.

We don’t offer air conditioning, and don’t claim to, so if you want this facility in a Mediterranean climate, it’s worth seeking it out. But new window shutters will be fitted.

Guests frequently tell us how happy they have been here, and many have returned over and over again. Thankfully this review is not typical of our visitors' many positive experiences. Just read our guestbook or Facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave E
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic hideaway in a beautiful fishing village”
Reviewed 19 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Make full use of the local shops and restaurants.... they are all so welcoming and friendly. Take a boat trip on the Canal du Midi.... hire bikes and cycle to the beaches...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance and the location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous little holiday home”
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in September 2010

Lovely house, nicely renovated, with everything provided to make for a comfortable, enjoyable holiday. Everything was of an excellent standard with lots of little personal touches to make you feel at home. Loved the situation of the house in it's typically French quirky little street. The proximity to the market square added to the appeal as did the superb, reasonably priced eateries, all within walking distance. The nearby beaches are beautifully clean and there are lots of other places of interest to visit within easy reach. The owners went out of their way to ensure our booking was straightforward and that we had everything we needed for a smooth, stress-free holiday. We would thoroughly recommend Rue de L'Amour and can't wait to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely little house and the superb locally available seafood
Liked least: Not quite enough easy chairs for so many adults
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jankilpat...
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in easy walking distance of loads of great eateries”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in March 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at Rue de l'Amour, a cost and well-appointed cottage. We particularly enjoyed the location - only five minutes walk to a shop and a great choice of cafes, restaurants and bars means that you could, if you wanted, eat out at a different place every night.

The cottage itself is ideal for hot weather, having a tiles on the ground floor, and is nice and cosy for an evening in. As long as you can tune out the sound of the church bells, and you have a car for trips further afield, this is a great place for a week away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great cottage in a great location
Liked least: The bells, the bells!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospero...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such Stuff As Dreams Are Made On.”
Reviewed 21 January 2012 for a stay in July 2010

Such stuff - I will give a valid or reasonable impression of this jewel property in a beautiful old town. As an experienced traveller who has stayed in many, many differing properties and hotels, from the bog-standard to luxury, and few places are without fault if you look for them.

I have stayed in this tastefully restyled "town house" in beautiful Marseillan on 3 separate occasions, and still dream to be able to find the opportunity to return again and enjoy the relaxation and authentic atmosphere that this place exudes.

All you need for a wonderful place to chill-out is here. The lovely modern decoration and included facilities help to create a perfect base for easy going days to enjoy the beautiful town and surrounding region. Simple, bright and charmingly decorated bedrooms, a cool modern style living/dining area and adequate kitchen are all that you need to cater for your mediterranean break. The neighbours are pleasant, and will let you practice your french and the narrow street where the house resides is close enough to the Church tower to experience the lovely bells and the ever fascinating swallows that swoop around them. The market square is only a one minute walk away and the regular markets are a charming way to spend a morning, in between coffee & pain au chocolate eating, of course.The property's cleaning lady is impressively french and I have always found her delightful.

It is situated in a narrow street within stumbling distance of the market square, bakery (yum), Cave, essential stores & a few pleasant eateries and drinkeries. All around and about are the winding streets of the 18th century fishing port. A ten minute slow amble further away, is the town's picturesque main Port area with a bigger selection of eateries and places to pass a warm afternoon, watching the world go by. Marseillan is attractive to tourists, but is not touristy. Take time to experience the wonderful seafood, ever present crepes and of course Noilly Prat.

It is a short drive to the busy seaside beach area of Marseillan Plage, and only a little further to the expansive beaches that border the road towards Sete. Further exploring of Herault is easy with good road connections. Local highlights are Pezenas, Sete, the Tarn Gorge, Agde & Aigues Mortes.

I love this property, I frequently long to return there.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Authenticity and location
Liked least: not being able to spend several weeks there
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing