We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 361)
Filter reviews
1 361 results
Traveller rating
1 093
225
34
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 093
225
34
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cloud forest on site night walk costa rica research station milk the cows yogurt pool table night tour movie theater juan carlos arenal volcano the main road hiking trails flora and fauna dairy farm self guided
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 1 361 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I truly enjoyed staying there and wish I could have stayed more than the 2 nights! The night tour and the early morning birding with Roy were excellent and milking a cow yourself and bottle feeding baby calves is a step back in time ...to a world which most of us don't even know of anymore. And it's definitely an experience to make!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iris178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear iris178,


We refer to time spent at Villa Blanca as both exceptional as well as an authentic Costa Rica experience that is part of the reason two nights was not enough. We invite you back again as our welcomed repeat guest with one of our custom Greentique Vacations for more of what “nature lovers” are looking for in our four unique and very biutique locations in Costa Rica.


Regards,


Jim Damalas
Founder/CEO
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The 10 km drive off the main highway leading to the hotel was one of the most amazing drives I have every taken. I said to my sister “Well I know where they got the slogan from, Hotel in White Clouds from, because we are literally driving through just that.” At check in we were given warm towels and a refreshing drink, an unexpected service that was greatly appreciated. On this night sister and I had a lovely dinner at El Sendero paired with red wine. I finished of the night journaling and reading by our personal fire. Villa Blanca really brings the culture to their guest, we milked cows at the farm, admired a beautiful church on property, hiked to the hummingbird garden and walked among the dozens of green houses on property. After a fun filled morning on property is was on to the next one, but it was hard to say bye to our personal.. cloud in the sky

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Kara C,
We can appreciate how one becomes so attached to the majical atmosphere of the cloudforest flor and fauna of Villa Blanca protected in the Los Angeles Cloud Forest Private Biological Nature Reserve of Vila Blanca. We hope that you and your sister return soon to Costa Rica with one of our Greentique Vacation experiences that offer you more time to discover all that Villa Blanca has to offer plus the choices to be hosted in our other tropical settings.
Regards,
Jim Damalas
President/CEO
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

AMAZING RESORT!!!

In July, we had a destination wedding at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and it was EVERYTHING we could've asked for and more. Firstly, the chapel is like something straight out of a fairytale!!! It's even more breathtaking in person. The entire resort is majestic. Photos really can't do it justice.

The wedding coordinator, Juan Carlos, really went above and beyond to make sure our wedding week was perfect! From the day we first contacted him for info, he wowed us with how helpful he was. He communicated with me continually to ensure that we got everything we wanted... He even surprised us by finding the EXACT kind of band we wanted, even though it was difficult to find in Costa Rica!!!

When we arrived, the entire was staff was amazing. We were extremely impressed with the quality of service. Also, the food is SO unique and delicious!

The prices for our event were very reasonable, and you really couldn't imagine a more gorgeous location. It exceeded my expectations for sure, and we plan to go back!!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jennmg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear jennmg02,
What a pleasure to know how much you both enjoyed your wedding experience with all of us at Villa Blanca. We feel that the trust that each couple entrusts in us is rewarded by the cherished memories created with each custome wedding we produce to reflect the dreams and expectations that can earn us such a gracious review.
Gracias,
Juan Carlos Carranza
Events Coordinator
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Short drive outside of San Ramon, beautiful setting. Enjoyed wine on the patio, excellent service and hospitality. Lunch and dinner menus offer great variety. Lovely little chapel tour and relaxing spa experience.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EllenJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Ellen J,
Thanks very much for taking the time to share your beautiful stay with us in the cloudforest of Los Angeles Norte near San Ramon. We hope to see you again in the future with more exceptional Costa Rica experiences we can offer with our family of Greentique Hotels.
Regards,
Joxan Obando
Operations Manager
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

About an hour and half's drive from the outskirts of San Jose you can be in dense Cloud Forest and staying at Villa Blanca. There is a few kilometres of rough road leading up to it...which the drivers claim give you a 'Costa Rican massage' (nothing worse than some of the roads in the Med or Far East) but it isn't anything to worry about and soon you arrive at the Reception - and relax from this point onwards. The main building has a lounge, small cinema, function room, good bar, and very nice restaurant with patio seating outside so you can catch the views. Scattered around below it are various types of cabins, Superior Casitas, Deluxe suites and Honeymoon Suites (we had the latter) which gives you a little space so you can be as private as you want without being too isolated. Ours was very comfortable, an Emperor sized bed, a very big bathroom with shower, twin handbasins, WC and link to a jacuzzi bath - fantastic! You'll also find a coffee maker, well stocked mini bar, settee, dresser, closet, and rocking chairs (and two more on the veranda). In the evening we sat outside and listened to the frogs, insects and night birds...and drank beer. Breakfast (buffet style), Lunch and Dinner are served in the restaurant/dinning area....and its all very tasty and well presented. They have a pretty good wine selection, spirits and of course beer - including some ales produced by micro breweries. There is a spa, and if you wish, you can receive a massage to help unwind after long haul flights (or sweaty trekking). There are guided excursions, both local and further afield, and short trails you can walk unsupervised, which are fairly easy - but wear the right attire, there are bugs and footing can be uneven and slippery! The staff are all friendly, they'll help with your bags and get just about anything you could need. The guests seem to be a mixture, a lot of Spanish speakers, Americans, Canadians, Brits, French and German and - English is spoken by most (but a few phrases of Spanish helps). Lovely place for three - four nights and a great start to our vacation in Costa Rica!

Room tip: Be difficult to find anything negative anywhere there - all rooms/casitas are
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Andrew G,
We can’t agree more that Villa Blance is such a great place to start or also end your holiday in Costa Rica. Thank you for mentioning many of the amenities and services we have to offer, and most important offered with the hospitality that we and our family of Greentique Hotels are known for. We refer to all that is the Magic of Nature, and the very good natured staff who welcome you, our own boutique brand of Sustainable Hospitality.
Saludos,
Jim Damalas
President/CEO
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews