We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 11:00, 14:00 - 15:00
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome

Booked a tour of this facility out of the blue. Glad we did, one of the coolest experiences I had... read more

Reviewed yesterday
snappinarrows
via mobile
Great hands on experience with the octopus!

An excellent tour! None of that boring behind the glass stuff while reading an informative poster... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
blong526
,
Edmonton, Canada
Read all 271 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kailua-Kona
from US$109,00
More Info
from US$127,52
More Info
from US$64,30
More Info
from US$69,66
More Info
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
212
40
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
40
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews octopus research facility life cycle change colors small facility intelligent creatures interactive experience all ages farm tour older children these amazing creatures learning how ocean rider learn how abalone favorite part interesting information
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This was a great activity for adults and kids! My husband and I went and Maggie was our informative guide. There were several other couples and a few families with young children. Maggie provided a lot of interesting information about the octopus and we all got to put our hands into the water and if the octopus wasn't shy, it would come up and touch your hand. It was a little freaky at first, but also very cool.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank steger1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Took master 7 here and he didn’t want to leave.

Book the tour take the time you won’t regret it, so much to learn and so hands on. We all loved it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank NICnBOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This is the first time (and likely the only time) that I was able to actually touch a live octopus. The facility is new to tours and is primarily a research operation. The physical appearance is not impressive, but the experience is unique. Our guide is very knowledgeable about sea life and shared a lot of information about the species. The experience to actually have an octopus hold on to your hand is one we'll never forget. We were also able to see phytoplankton and zooplankton through a microscope -- very impressive. Everyone was able to feed the octopi (2:00 tour), again a very memorable experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This was a phenomenal informative and interactive experience! Highly recommend for children and adults.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank murraysgoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

This was the first time me and the family went there. If you’re expecting sea world, don’t go. If you want a smaller less flashy more one on one hands on experience, this place will be perfect. You can see and touch several adult octopus. The man in charge is very knowledgeable and dedicated. Definitely something you can’t do anywhere else

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews