We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$252
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$271
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$170
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$180
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$347
US$158
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai(Kailua-Kona)
US$1 316
US$1 086
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
114
11
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
11
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitemagic sands beachboogie boardslounging by the poolbeach chairsthe big islandgreat snorkelinghuge kitchenlocation is fantastictropical fruitsnorkel equipmentgreat hostsbeautiful oceanwatching the sunsetsee whalesgreen flashthe entire property
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Sugar Shack for a week, and I have only good things to say about our stay. Every night, we cozied up on the patio for amazing views of the sunset over the ocean. We went to various beautiful beaches recommended by John and Jae, including the one right across the street. And when we just wanted to be away from it all, we relaxed by the pool on the property. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sihomara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We rented this property for 11 nights with 5 Couples and one single person. We were able to get the entire property for our group. We had plenty of rooms and bathrooms for everyone. The location is great. From the pool yard you can enjoy the sunsets directly over the ocean view. On one night we watched whales breaching from the back patio of the home. Magic Sands beach is a 2 minute walk. Everything in the home was of high quality including the artwork throughout the house. Most of which is the owners own work. The owners ensured all the conveniences were there including supplies. There were plenty of appliances, dishes, refrigerators, and gas grills to have great home cooked meals. We has several great BBQ nights after scuba diving.
There were many other amenities such as beach lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, boogie boards and more. There were plenty of towels for everyone as well as extra for going to the beach. Really you just need to bring yourself, your personal bathroom items and food and everything else is there to have a great relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sklenersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Our team stayed at the Kona Sugar Shack during the Raganar Hawaii race. While somewhat distant from most of the race course, it is very close to shops/restaurants in Kona. 1 mile from Da Poke Shack and about 3 miles from downtown Kona.
The layout of the house is broken up into up to 5 separate rentals which makes it flexible but also very odd when you rent the entire place. Kitchens next to other kitchens and walking through bathrooms to access other people's bedrooms. Not a deal breaker, just strange.
The view out the livingroom balcony is amazing and you're right across the street from a small white sand beach.
The pool is nice but shallow. No jumping into this one. Great for just hanging out with friends.
Internet speed is 100Mb/s download which is awesome but the wifi doesn't reach very far. I couldn't get a reliable signal even in the livingroom upstairs. Too many doors/walls in the way probably.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Joe and John were amazing to deal with from the start, the house itself is amazing and perfect for our large group. With different suites for all the different people it allowed us to have some privacy when needed but also enjoy the Big Island as a group also.

Having the beach so close was a definite benefit and easy access to Kona via Ali'i drive was great. The location of the house allows you to enjoy Kona but not be in the hustle and bustle of the city. Home is FULLY stocked and we didn't need to go buy anything extra for the house...in one word this vacation was EPIC.

Room Tip: Anniversary Suite is great
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Visited this spring with a large group of family (13 adults). There was plenty of space to spread out, everyone had a bed, and the kitchen made it easy to cook for the whole family. We appreciated the air conditioners in the bedrooms, the lovely bathrooms, and the fresh bananas from their trees. Everything we needed was there - from towels and chairs, to internet for planning our adventures. The best part was sitting out on the lanai enjoying the sunset as we ate dinner! It was an easy location to use as a home base for snorkeling and exploring, then to come back and relax by the pool or walk across the street to the beach. We were very sad to leave and would come back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank krg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews