We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Tropical Mountain Escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wood stove for thoses cooler nights washer dryer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
wood stove for thoses cooler nights
washer dryer
surrounding forest
Tropical flower abound!
Jackson cameleon in the forest
Surrounded by Ohia forest
orchids love this climate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Melissa V
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Tropical Mountain Escape”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this place because of it's location: first, it is well positioned for adventures all over the island. Second, it is located on a mountainside, which makes it significantly cooler than comparable properties in Kona. We beat the heat every night and it was the perfect refuge when we needed a break from the sun! In addition, this spacious cottage is beautiful and has a comfortable, welcoming vibe. Kathryn and Bill are both super nice and even though they share the property, they gave us our space. We only saw them upon arrival, and then only working around the upper yard (away from the cabin) as we drove past. All in all, it was a wonderful stay and we are grateful to have had such a fabulous home base during our honeymoon. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again! Thank you, Kathryn and Bill, for such a lovely vacation space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBrun...
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful & comfortable tropical escape”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was phenomenal! The house is spacious and comfy, and we felt welcome during our entire stay. It's better than the pictures and the outdoor bathtub is often. Best of all, the mountainside home is perfect for escaping the heat and sleeping in cooler temperatures. We kept the bedroom windows open so we could fall asleep to the frogs and wake to the birds. The location is perfect for exploring Kona and Kohala, and we had many adventures all over the island with this as our home base. Kathryn and Bill were both super nice, and Ollie the friendly cat checked on us a few times. All in all, wonderful place. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig I
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“everything we wanted”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay, fully equipped and ready. Great area, private but not far from all facilities, able to hit the beach, then retreat up the hill cool off!
Thanks to Bill and Kathryn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npig19
ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Choice”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We felt the Aloha the moment we arrived. The home is well planned, well built, and well maintained. Within minutes, Kathryn walked down to greet us and to show us the ropes with the whole-house dehumidifier (great system!) and everything else. The kitchen had everything we needed, and the beds were quite comfortable. We loved the giant shower. Unfortunately, by the time we returned each evening, we were too tired to soak in the big, red tub. Our younger daughter got a kick out of feeding the chickens. She went a bit overboard feeding the cat treats, but he didn't seem to mind. For those who insist on finding something negative, there was no table or stand in the master bedroom; so my wife and I were forced to keep our suitcases on the spotless floor, and we actually had to bend over to use them. ;-) We managed to hang a few things in the extra large closet, however.

Staying mauka instead of right at one single beach was a great decision. It was easy to get nearly anywhere on the kona side of the island, and the Saddle Road makes the windward side a fairly easy drive, too. We swam with turtles, snorkeled with dolphins, stood on the green sand beach, and watched huge waves smash into the southernmost point of the United States before returning to this wonderful spot. We will absolutely insist that any friends or family who travel to the Big Island in the future stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Ketchikan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Question: BEACHSIDE CONDO OR MOUNTAINSIDE RETREAT?”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was the question we had to resolve before booking lodging for our month long vacation stay in Hawaii. We had already decided on the Big Island and the dates so now it was down to the final details. We chose the mountainside cottage, and after visiting friends in their tiny condo at the beach we were satisfied we made the right choice. The cottage was as charming as previous reviewers had said it was and it had the advantage of private space both inside and out in the adjoining yard.
On arrival we easily found our way from the airport to the Ho'a street address by using GPS guidance on the iPhone. On calling the hosts to announce our arrival and get final directions down their drive we learned from Kathryn that they were at the beach, but just continue to the end of the drive and we would find the guest cottage open. As we learned later this informal manner and friendly yet unobtrusive availability marked Kathryn's style.
By prior agreement we shared the two bedroom cottage with old friends from Minnesota, a senior couple like ourselves. At first I had some concern about four of us managing to share a single bathroom but somehow this never became a problem. Maybe with teens in the group that would have been a different story.
Things we enjoyed about the cottage included its location with proximity to things on good roads, It literally was no more than ten minutes to Safeway Grocery or fifteen minutes to Alii Drive with its shops and the beach. Mountain Thunder coffee plantation was only a quarter mile or so down the road. The slightly cooler temperatures at 2,000 feet elevation were also appreciated on the hotter days. Decor in the cottage was interesting ranging from a small Buddha to Hawaiian style masks and canoe paddles. There was a large B.B. King poster on one bedroom wall complete with two $50 concert tickets from 2002 and there were numerous surfing trophies from years past. And of course the vegetation surrounding our yard was enjoyable. Two varieties of orchids were in bloom along with other tropical foliage and in a garden plot pineapples were growing along with kale, celery, basil. and Habanero and Vietnamese chili peppers. Outside the kitchen window was a banana tree.
During our stay the cable service was upgraded to provide WiFi and high speed internet keeping us connected with our online friends, banking, and business.
Ollie the cat was a frequent visitor during our stay, just as earlier guests have noted. We tried to convince ourselves it was because he liked our company and not just the treats he begged for and received.
Overall we enjoyed our month long residence at the cottage and we all felt we would like to return some day. In any case we would recommend this guesthouse to friends who might be bound toward the Big Island for vacation.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing