We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Experience Kona the way it used to be”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Evening from the Balcony at the Zen Cottage
One of 3 bedrooms at the Seaside Zen Cottage
The lanai at the Seaside Zen Cottage
Rest on the lawn in front of the Zen Cottage
The Cottage living room - afternoon light
Endangered Green Sea Turtles in our Lagoon
Sunset - the end of another perfect day at the Kona Beach House
How the Cottage is situated on the lot
Cottage and the lagoon beach
Every night is beautiful.  Every night is special.
Kids love the lagoon
Kids are fascinated by the turtles & fish in the lagoon
Yes you can surf in Kona
Peace comes to you in Kona
Memories are made every day
A great place for a wedding
Front yard of Plantation House next door.  The point is a perfect place for a wedding
Next door - our Plantation Manger's Beach House as seen from the beach
The lagoon, our cottage in the background and green sea turtle in foreground.
Resting green sea turtle (they are endanged - please don't touch)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott F
1 review
“Experience Kona the way it used to be”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We booked both the Zen Cottage as well as the Plantation Manager's House and both properties were simply fantastic. Valerie, who handled the bookings was always on time and professional in my dealings with her and Tina, who manages the properties was the perfect combination of an informative hostess, but one who gives her guests all the space they desire-never obtrusive or overzealous but always informative, helpful and gracious.

I lived and worked in Kona for several years and have returned often to visit, as the Island holds a special place in my heart. I have stayed at several resorts in downtown Kona and north on the Kohala coast, but none of them compared with my experience at these two adjacent properties.

The dwellings themselves are spectacular, the Zen cottage, with its simple, open and airy floor plan is truly one of the most relaxing places I have ever been. The downstairs kitchen is simple but in a 1940's vintage sort of way. The showers, particularly the large downstairs one, is perfect for beach use-enormous!.

The Plantation Manager's House is slightly more formal, but calming none the less, and the views from its lanai simply cannot be matched. The spacious kitchen, pouring out onto it, quickly became our favorite whale watching venue as well as the focal point for all of our meals, conversations, and get togethers.

Access to the tide pools is quite handy, and I can imagine, during the summer and probably most of the winter months, access to the reefs out beyond the property is quite manageable. During our stay however, some exceptionally high surf ruled out such swims as most beaches on the Big Island were actually closed, a truly rare event!

The only complaint any of us had, was when it came time to depart-none of us were ready, unusual for this group, as we tend to be a restless lot. Not this time. No one wanted to go home. The only consolation is that we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location
Liked least: nothing...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
We are delighted that you appreciated our homes and feel about them the way we do! I'm sorry that we can't do anything about your one complaint....it is a complaint that we love to receive and we'd love to have you back ANY TIME! And thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and Oceanside
Liked least: bugs but not bad.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kmorgan71
Granger, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely property, peaceful and comfortable!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We traveled to Kona with my parents, my husband and our two children. The property is just as it is portrayed on the website. Right on the very often empty beach on a peaceful lagoon. We saw sea turtles every day and this was a huge treat for all of us, but especially the kids.

The cottage itself is lovely. Everything we needed in the kitchen to cook meals when we wanted to eat in. The three full bathrooms were perfect for the six of us. The beds were very comfortable, and falling asleep to the sound of waves every night was amazing. We really enjoyed both the upstairs balcony and the downstairs lanai. We ate most of our meals on the lanai downstairs.

Overall a very lovely property. Tina, the caretaker was very helpful and responsive to our needs. She gave us great directions to some off the beaten path spots that we would never have found on our own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property, right on the water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our Seaside Zen Cottage. Tina tells us that you were fabulous guests.
As we always try to give our guests the best possible experience, might we know what was lacking that prevented your giving us a 5 star review? We would like to be able to rectify any short comings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. (I completely understand about missing the sound of the ocean as a bed time lullaby.) We would love to have you and the family back...just let us know
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing