We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Big Island Retreat(Kailua-Kona)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$178
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$371
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$468
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai(Kailua-Kona)
US$1 482
US$1 094
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1 241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
227
94
32
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
94
32
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner unitbeach chairstide poolsocean frontquiet side streetselect comfortliving roomthe big islandsea turtlesyellow tangspinner dolphinscentral air conditioningon the rocksassigned parkingshort walksound of the wavesthese condos
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This is a beautifully maintained ocean front in Kona. The complex is very close to Kona Town, but is so quiet that you feel like you are away from everything. There are too many amenities to list, but let me just say that if you brought your swim suit, you wouldn’t need anything else. Furnishings are new and very beautiful. If you want to cook, the kitchen has everything you could need to cook gourmet meals. The condo(Bob’s Beach Bungalow) is spotless. Whales and dolphins were visible right from our lanai which felt like we were in the ocean. Nothing obstructs your ocean view. The owners, Lori and Bob, are awesome and worked very hard to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Booking is through Adeline at Kona Now. We will definitely will book this lovely condo again!

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank MFP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Mahalo for your review, we enjoyed your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We recently stayed at HKK and based on other reviews I thought I was prepared for the condition of the condo but still found myself disappointed with suite 413. The suite is very tired and even though this is a 30-40 year old building the kitchen and bathroom appear original. As expected the wrap around lanai overlooking the ocean and the location close to Kona were the highlights of the suite. During our stay there was no maid service or towel service and we also had to buy toilet paper and paper towels. I know this seems minor, but in similar units on other islands that we have stayed in the past,all were provided. With a little investment this suite would be amazing but based on its current condition I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: End units with rap around lanai the best, higher floors offer the best.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Aloha, Yes as stated when you reserved 413 is a dated and tired condo. The view is most likely one of the best on the island. Kitchen and bathroom are original. Furnishings and linens are updated. All of our condos are self catering, we do share that with our guests as well. If you want maid services we are happy to organize that for you at an additional charge. Along with self catering comes a starter kit of TP, paper towels, cleaning products etc. but after that starter kit you are on your own.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The 4 bedroom units are very comfortable. Of course the master suite is the best. When we arrived, the place was spotless. Windows were washed and lanai floors were scrubbed. When you have ocean spray, eventually the salt stays. The condo is better than in their photos. We were in #7.
It’s hard to find...so when you see the 2 1/2 mile marker and the sign telling you there is a stop sign ahead, it is the driveway on your right. Traffic was bad in mid February.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank pattynrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This is our second time staying a the Hale Kona Kai. This year we were in #303. We really enjoy this area so that we can walk to dinner at night and we love watching the water in the morning while eating breakfast. Lots of turtles to keep a eye on. Our unit was very clean and nice, my only concern is that the bathroom mirror needs to be replaced, but when on vacation why be concerned with that.... This unit has everything that you would need. Adeline is super easy to work with -

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BakerCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Aloha, So glad you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to a third visit with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Hale Kona Kai #205 needs work. I rate the bathroom as one and a half stars. The tub needs a hard brush scrubbing. I wouldn't sit in it. The shower rod is one that is supposed to bow out, but it hangs straight down so the shower curtain drags in the tub. The faucet and spout look like they might be original (1972). The tile work is poor in there around the toilet. The door and hardware should be replaced. The exhaust vent is dust encrusted. The toilet is awesome.

The kitchen is a dated formica-counter type. When we first arrived, the freezer smelled like fish. The first glass I pulled out of the cabinet had not been washed. We washed everything else before we used it.

In the living room, with the doors and windows properly closed, the air conditioner caused condensation to run down the walls and form on the inside of the glass surfaces. Furnishings were nice.

The bedroom was OK, but the mattress was not comfortable.

The view is remarkable. We saw turtles in the water on the lava rock shore line. We saw fish in the surf and a huge pod of dolphins swimming by. Beautiful sunsets from the lanai. You couldn't ask for a better view.

We have stayed in other units here before which are much better, and will be sure to select a renovated unit next time.

Room Tip: The rooms that look almost straight down into the water are the best for turtle watching.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Aloha and mahalo for your review. So glad you enjoyed the view and furnishings int 205. One can not beat the view from the lanai, the bedroom and living room; all are true and absolute oceanfront!
Sorry the tub and that glass were not up to par for cleaning, wish you had told us when you arrived or while here because we would have sent the cleaner right back upstairs and made it right for you. We gave her a talking and pulled this condo from her and I am sure she will be more diligent. As far as the shower rod goes: it was a quick fix took one minute to do by our on site person and had we known he would have done that for you :) The mattress in 205 is not old maybe 3 years tops, sometimes I feel like Goldie Locks because the guests in there now told me it is very comfy... the owners are coming to town next week and we will evaluate it again and replace the faucets.
When you were visiting I know it was rainy and gloomy for almost the entire visit, so sorry about that... so when you closed up the condo and turned the ac on the moisture that settled on the fan blades "sprayed" onto the mirrors. There is not much we can do about this, it is is just science and the only way to avoid it would be for you not to use the fans when running the ac during high humidity. We clean these mirrors between each clean.
We are glad you love Hale Kona Kai, most guests love 205, sorry you did not.. next time we will get you in a condo with out mirrors :) The new owners of 205 have been working hard to redo this condo, they have owned for only a year and have painted, put in new floors and purchased new furnishings. They visit twice a year and each time they do big improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews