We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$225
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Island Retreat(Kailua-Kona)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$308
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai(Kailua-Kona)
US$1 316
US$1 086
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Coast Resort(Kailua-Kona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
327
223
54
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
223
54
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontfull kitchensandy areadaily maid servicethe big islandliving roomwasher and dryerbedroom oceanfrontsalt water poolcovered parkingcleaned dailyunderground parkingoffice staffsand beachwaves crashinggreat ocean viewssea wall
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This is not a high end condo rental so if you are looking for luxury this is not your choice. However it was well furnished, clean, and comfortable. The location is perfect-near restaurants and businesses yet still very quiet. The setting is just beautiful. The grounds are well kept and gorgeous. The ocean is right there and wonderful to hear and see. Nice pool. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely recommend this rental and would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ocean side condo is worth the extra money.
Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank shoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

We hope you return to your home away from home very soon.
Thank you for staying with us.

Brian Hirata
Guest service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Room was fantastic, very large. Free WiFi and parking was a big benefit. Pool was great, though a little disappointing they close it at 10pm and kick you out, however probably good for families and older guests. Only downside is proximity to food which makes it hard to have a night out if you want to have a few drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trueman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Thank you for the great review . We hope to see you soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Family vacations are an important part of life and we take several every year. A recent flight sale brought us to a state which none of us had visited before, but one that every family member was anxious to see. That state was Hawaii and our choice for lodging was Aston Kona by the Sea.

We decided to go with this resort based on its ocean front location and the generally positive reviews and recommendations from other travelers. We have stayed in many other condo- style resorts and found this one just as comfortable as the rest, with a large living area, full kitchen, washer and dryer, and all the in- room extras to make it a true home away from home. We stayed in a two bedroom unit and the tropical island theme is apparent in each room, helping place you in a Hawaiian frame of mind. Your entire person is transformed to a new place and you’re ready to let go of the mainland, put your troubles behind, and live like Hawaiians do for the duration of your stay.

Aston Kona by the Sea isn’t a high maintenance, deluxe type of resort and we learned this fact quickly. It has a pool and hot tub, plus wifi access, games, and movie rentals. But it doesn’t offer resort activities, wine tastings, social hours, and other extras common to other resorts of this style. It is much more low key, which means that you, the guest, are free to do as you please and find your own way to have fun on your own time. The noise level is low and there are usually only a handful of people in the outdoor pool at any given time. This makes it perfect for those who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind, sit back in a chair, read a book, and drink a beer in a place where the loudest noise is that of the ocean waves crashing against the shore.

We found Aston Kona by the Sea a nice place to visit overall and we loved the direct view of the ocean from our balcony. However, I can’t say this is a five star resort for the simple fact that the rooms need some updates and better cleaning. We saw stains on the carpet, noticed dust on top of the pictures on the wall, and could visibly see signs of wear and tear on the accessories in each room. Was this enough to ruin our stay? Not at all, because it didn’t prevent us from doing what we liked and what we wanted. But these cosmetic issues did add up and they prevent this resort from being the five star property it is capable of being.

Hawaii’s Big Island is a place of wonder. We are glad we took the time to fly west and land on this small, volcanic paradise in the middle of the vast body of water known as the Pacific Ocean. Aston Kona by the Sea took care of us in most ways, providing comfort, great ocean and sunset views, and a quiet place to stay. More attention to cleanliness and more updates would make this resort even better but otherwise, it’s still a good place to stay and perfect for those who desire a little more quiet time when they vacation far from home.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Great_Beer_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Our quiet property by the beautiful ocean does allow you to experience our Island without the distractions a of large resort hotel. We apologize it was not perfect but we do learn from our guests feedback and always continuously improve our services and product.

We hope you return home very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Spend FIVE glorious days on the Big Island and after having stayed at an Aston Resort on Kauai, decided to stick with what we knew.
Check in was a breeze and service was a pure delight! They had a few cancellations so they upgraded our room to a seafront suite on the house! The rooms were clean and room service were like some cleaning Ninja Angels we never even saw. lol The morning coffee blend was delightful and the pool and spa area were empty and all ours for most of our trip. Planning next years trip to Maui and I assure you...we WILL be staying at the Aston there as well. Mahalo!

Stayed: June 2015
2  Thank Mane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Thank you for your great review. Maui is great but you can do both and come back home.

We hope to see you soon!

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The views here are second to none!! I took my mom here and we really enjoyed our stay. Great location. Friendly staff. Very clean. Balconies, kitchen, living room & two bedrooms topped it off nicely! I recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a nice quiet upscale resort experience.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CarlaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Thank you for giving our readers an easy choice. You know we are known to love las Vegas too.

Please return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews