We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 389)
Filter reviews
3 389 results
Traveller rating
741
1 353
758
325
212
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
1 353
758
325
212
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon alii tower mai tai bar don the beachcomber corner king ocean front main tower the big island salt water lagoon an ocean view room shops and restaurants on the rocks an older hotel waves crashing open air parking fee our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
829 - 834 of 3 389 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The Royal Kona Resort is a friendly place to stay, the grounds really impressed me, very neat and beautiful. The rooms are not elaborate if that is what you are looking for. They are clean and neat and great room service, these are the things I look for. I am not one to stay in the hotel, I go some place to see things and try different adventures. The hotel is in walking distance from Kailua where you can find many things to see as well many eating places. There is a Green trolley you can hop on to and venture up and down the west side of the island. I will return!!!

Room Tip: Get ocean view if you can, you are close to the water and at night you hear the water splashing on the rocks below.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a week at Royal kona . Another kind of run down resort. Bed was comfortable staff was nice. Luau food was good fire guy was good If I did it again I d go spend a144 bucks somewhere else and watch performance by pool . The food in town is expensive but at the hotel it's obscene. Thai Rin is awesome , Splashers poor. Fish hopper decent breakfast. If u drive to volcano stop at Shakas they give u enough loco moco for 4 people.all and all not bad but not great.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Not too impressed with the service or quality of the rooms for the price. The location was about all that was positive for this resort. Lovely sunset from the lounge and close to all restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadarobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

It's surrounded by lava rocks, not sandy beach.
Nearest beach is a 25 minute walk away.

This hotel was built over 30 years ago and never updated. Ever. It's rusting... like an old prison... a big concrete prison.

It has a small 'private beach' it's the size of two tennis courts, a bit of sand and a cool place to snorkel - for 15 minutes. Sadly wedding guests have usually booked it out.

The overpriced Luau means between 6 and 10 every other night, you'll have the banging of drums outside your room.
The restaurant is like a high school canteen.
The bar is tired and closes at 10pm - yes, 10pm. On your holiday at this resort you will go to bed earlier than a work night.
To get to a decent restaurant and shops you need to walk 10-15 minutes - when you have to eat out for every meal that walk to and from the hotel gets a bit annoying - especially as there is nothing at the hotel except a very average swimming pool and a tiny bit of sand. To get to an actual beach you have to walk 25 minutes.

The air con in the room is aimed at your bed... not fun.

It's clean and the staff are nice. But the resort has seen no love for a long time. Even the Koi don't like it here - we had a nice big dead one greet us on the night we arrived; floating in the pond... a sign of things to come.
Hawaii is awesome, it's paradise - but this review is about the hotel.

In short, stay somewhere else, somewhere nice, somewhere fun. Stay here and you'll quickly spend all those dollars you saved trying to cheer yourself up from your miserable resort.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Bambi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Good hotel but not amazingly great. Check in wasn't until 4pm which is understandable because they have so many rooms to clean, etc. but it does suck when you've just arrived after travelling for the last 15 hours or so and you just want to relax and put your bags away and all. We checked in at around 3pm as there was a room available and parked our car in their parking lot. It costs $10 per night which I think is a fair price, pretty cheap if you ask me. They showed us on a map where our room was located and asked if we needed help with our bags, which we politely declined because we didn't mind taking them ourselves. The room was easy to find. We had a garden view room which also had a partial ocean view from our balcony so that was great too. Our room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was a decent size too. The next day we left our privacy sign on the door as it was only just our first day and it didn't really need cleaning yet. The second day we left it off and house keeping never arrived to clean our room. We were in and out of the hotel that day but when we went back for a little while, house keeping was on our floor. So we waited for them to come and clean. They were even cleaning the room next to ours but never came to clean ours and I'm not sure why? The sign wasn't on the door. So we had to call up later that night to at least ask for some fresh towels. The next morning we decided we would wake up early to eat from their breakfast buffet. Pretty average food. Before we sat down, we had a staff member ask us if we wanted some coffee & she was very rude about it. Just the way she spoke was so unwelcoming and it's like she didn't even want us there. That made me feel uncomfortable. Not even a smile.
Other than that, the hotel was fairly nice. They had a pool, gym. Etc. We booked manta ray snorkelling at the hotel activity centre. it's in a great location which is why I would stay there again. I would recommend this hotel to other travellers but took one star off simply because of some of the not so great customer service we received. Everything else is great.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank emilyyt94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews