We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveller rating
450
261
69
48
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
261
69
48
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aloha condos air conditioning ocean pool golf course ocean front the big island tennis courts living room the security guard grocery store cleaning fee small bay great condo condo complex keahou bay minute drive keahou shopping center
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 862 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We (family of four) had a great stay in a 2-bedroom oceanfront unit. We arrived late (around 9:00pm) and the person who checked us in at the Royal Sea Cliff was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at Kanaloa, the security guard was also friendly and helpful, and she escorted us to our parking spot and unit, in the dark and rain. I’m sure the units may be hit-or-miss, since they are individually owned, but ours (3202) was great. Spacious, clean, kitchen was well-stocked (more cookware, dinnerware, and countertop appliances than we have at home!) We discovered the first morning that the microwave wasn’t working, but management was very responsive and resolved the problem later the same day. We loved the view from the lanai and enjoyed the pools. Having Kahaluu Beach (great snorkeling) just minutes away was a big plus, and having the shopping center nearby was a nice convenience. The owners had left a couple of boogie boards, some snorkeling equipment, and pool noodles for guests to use. Great place ... we were sad to leave.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank emily785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

This was a once in a lifetime trip and sadly we were underwhlemed by this property. We spent the money on Oceanfront thinmking the unit would be in 4-5 star. Condo was nicely decorated but had some issues which were not relayed to the GM until last day. Service from front desk is very poor. No unit info given. she didnt really know what we paid for some was argumentative about the air conditioning we had prepaid. Unit 2002 Ocean front needed upgrading. If you are going to supply one set of towels per couple and no clean sheets, there should be a washer and dryer that works properly. Dishwasher was old too and did not clean dishes . Owners need to be aware that people may come once but they wont be back or recommend their units if the place doesn't meet even standard expectations. DVD remotes did not work due to Batteries were crusty. Kitchen cupboards are very old and squeak when you open and close doors. Dishes were chipped and cracked. Good pots and pans were very limited. Lesson we learned... Its very hard to know if the unit your are picking is what it really looks like. GM did contact us last day and refunded our cleaning fee for the service issues.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This was a nice property. Yet we didn't get what we asked for and were overcharged for the wrong accommodations. We were charged and extra $25.00 a day for air conditioning. We were in a condo about 150 feet ???? away from ocean so you could hear the waves hitting to lava Rock all night and day

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Edyth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Aloha,

It is disappointing that you did not completely enjoy your stay, The charge for A/C is listed in all of our online material and included in your confirmation. The Ocean can be very loud and is sometimes more than guests are prepared for. When the surf is moderate or high it is very loud and can be heard from more than a mile away especially at night.

Mahalo for your feedback,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Stayed in unit 1606 managed by Outrigger. Have stayed 3 other times at this property.

Unit 2 bd, modern kitchen,master bath upgraded, unit basically clean and fully equipped. Gounds are well kept, 3 po0ls, gas barbeques. Great view from lanai of ocean and golf course.

Be Aware that unit has one set of stairs to entrance, another to main living area, and another to master bedroom and bath. A lot of stairs. Parking spaces are very narrow. Rent a midsize rather than a standard.

Be Aware, Approximately 100 yards from unit is a commercial business involved in water and sewer engineering. One day there was industrial noise and one day somewhat of a sewer smell. Not sure if the smell had anything to do with them.

Be Aware., This is a non smoking property, including vaping.if you do consume you must be completely off the property.

Be Very Aware. Most units are not rented out but are lived in year round. As such some tenants don't like the rental units and are not friendly. Quiet hours are 10pm to 6A, 7 DAYS A WEEK, WHAT THAT MEANS IS THAT YOU CANNOT BE ON YOUR LANAI AFTER 10pm, even to play cards or visit. Otherwise one of the neighbors will complain at 10:01 and security will be telling you to get indoors at 10:07pm.

Be Ware $225 cleaning fee manadatory. For that unit is supercially cleaned, line is changed and any dirty dishes washed. What yo don't get is really clean unit,a clean stove (this one looked liked it hadn't been cleaned since it was installed), and normal maintenance such as burned out light bulbs such as the one on the fan of he lanai, or the ones at the bottom of the stairs to master bedroom..

OVERALL, Nice unit, great view, lacking proper cleaning and maintenance. unfriendly neighbors and security. Not as nice as when Outrigger managed the whole property. Not sure if I would return again.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Originally booked into #2702 and was old, dirty and had horrible beds. The management agreed and moved us to #2204 which was much better. The 2 bedroom condo was on the 2nd floor with loft and great ocean view. Much more updated with deck overlooking the ocean. I feel the amenities in the kitchen area are lacking. Salt and pepper are the only condiments. We stayed for 12 days and were given only one small packet of washing machine detergent for 4 people. Beds were good though and view pf the ocean fabulous. You have to walk up to the 2nd floor so be aware.

Room Tip: Don't select 2702!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews