We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome teen certification ”

Jack's Diving Locker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone needs some adventure in their lives! Jack's Diving Locker in Kailua-Kona, on the Big Island of Hawaii is the place to go for that adventure. Join our experienced staff on one of our premier dive boats for two-tank dives, Advanced 2 & 3 tank scuba dive trips, Dolphin and Whale watches, the Pelagic Magic Night Dive and the world famous Manta Ray Night Dive and Snorkel! As a PADI 5 Star IDC Resort we have the Big Island's widest range of scuba diving options and the best range of classes and courses, from beginner introductory dives to Instructor training. We also have the Big Island's Best Dive Shop with the friendliest service on the Big Island of Hawaii. So the next time you plan a diving vacation give Jack's Diving Locker a call to help you plan your Hawaii diving vacation.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Our two teenage sons recently completed their open water certification dives at Jack’s Diving Locker. They thoroughly enjoyed their instructor, Mongo, and the dive sites were fantastic! They had a great experience and are now certified. Also, Jack’s doesn’t require an adult to tag along, so we were left free to explore the island while the boys were completing their certification. Five stars.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jmlucassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"night dive"
in 174 reviews
"dive shop"
in 150 reviews
"juan carlos"
in 48 reviews
"dive master"
in 190 reviews
"pelagic magic"
in 47 reviews
"manta rays"
in 247 reviews
"the big island"
in 160 reviews
"rental gear"
in 41 reviews
"open water dives"
in 16 reviews
"fish"
in 123 reviews
"excellent dive"
in 25 reviews
"captain bob"
in 20 reviews
"cookies"
in 57 reviews
"garden eel cove"
in 20 reviews
"certified diver"
in 20 reviews
"experienced divers"
in 31 reviews
"two tank"
in 35 reviews
Filter

95 - 99 of 1 643 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I’m normally not a fan of big group dives, but Jack’s dice locker made a group with 16-18 divers feel like a small 6-person dive. They were extremely organized and put divers into small groups. They look care of all equipment and change overs which made everything easy. We did a 2-tanks day and a 2-tank night dive. On the day dive we saw a tiger shark and on the night we saw 4 mantas. Absolutely beautiful. Thanks to the crew for such a great experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank robinmcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I came for our anniversary trip and wanted to do a dive trip. My husband is already a certified diver and I am not. The staff were wonderful in accommodating us so that we could still be in the same group for the dive. And even more so it was fantastic that this dive company offered an intro dive for me so that I didn’t have to get certified first. All the staff were wonderful,from the front desk booking to the dive team the day of. Our safety and enjoyment were always their priority. The dive sites they took us to were beautiful and not crowded, so it was a fantastic experience. They even provided a small sandwich lunch and water/juice. As a first time diver I was really nervous but the staff especially Christine and Zilla(big Zach) really made me feel comfortable and safe. If you want a great diving experience you need to try this place out!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This was a fantastic experience. We did the manta ray night dive. The captain John and crew Juancarlos and Nigel we helpful and informative. From start to finish they made sure we were comfortable. We were fortunate that the rays were out and somersaulting. One of our group was pregnant and they made sure she knew where to sit and had the right wet suit.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Wozzle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We searched so many places to do the night manta snorkel. We absolutely made the right choice! The entire team from booking to snorkeling was amazing.

They did an excellent job of getting all the correct gear for the whole family including getting prescription goggles for all of us which made the experience even better. We loved the lighted boards. This helped with safety for my kids and let us enjoy the experience by just holding on and floating.

We were SO lucky the night we went as we say 15 mantas. They truly come right up to the board and just roll over to catch the plankton (which were also pretty amazing). It is far from dark with all of the other companies' boats, light boards, and divers below. My kids were both glad of that!

They aren't kidding about sea sickness. Take dramamine or whatever is necessary. The ride out wasn't a problem. After floating on swells for 45 minutes in the water, everyone was surprisingly ill when we got back on the boat. The ride back was tough on my kids (and one little boy threw up).

They do everything they can to make it comfortable and fun! They even provided snacks. Juan Carlos was wonderful and clearly cared about the mantas and the health of the ocean! He had a great sense of humor (even when both of my kids were about to throw up on the way home). We also enjoyed the pirate jokes (you can tell he has kids :). We learned a lot about the mantas. They were truly amazing creatures.

We know that the trip experience completely depends on whether or not people see mantas. This company goes out of their way to do it right.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank tag090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack's Diving Locker also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jack's Diving Locker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing