We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful coffee shop”

Unterkofler Backerei & Konditorei
Ranked #3 of 3 Bakeries in Zell am See
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We found this lovely coffee shop just near the centre of the town. It's a take away bakery and coffee shop. The different types of coffees were clearly displayed on a board making our choice much easier. The assistant was very helpful with good English as we struggled to say our order. The coffee was lovely though they serve smaller cups but you get a small glass of water on the side. We returned a few times during our stay. I can certainly recommend this cafe.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Found this little bakers come coffee shop in the centre of the town and visited it 4 times during our stay. The coffee was excellent and the selection of cakes and sandwiches was extensive. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank IanChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Ideally situated in Zell am See centre this little cafe/bakery serves coffee and lovely fresh sandwiches and cakes to eat in or take away. Always very fresh and tasty.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I don’t give 1’s lightly; in fact, this is my first time after more than 50 reviews. We spent 2 weeks in Austria; not a long time to be sure. But in all that time, this was the ONLY negative experience we had. I realize we are foreign visitors who can’t speak the language of the country we are visiting. But everyone else we met was quite willing to put up with us, but not here. We came in, started looking at the sandwiches on display, and when approached asked if anyone spoke English. Eva volunteered that she did, and we started asking questions about what the various choices were. She grew obviously more and more impatient as the transaction went on. In the end, she just wanted to get rid of us. She was nasty, contemptuous, and simply downright mean. She even forgot or misheard that I had answered ‘take away’, and got very angry when I said we wanted to take the food with us, not eat there. The sandwiches, by the way, were quite poor. Simple white bread with lackluster fillings.

Perhaps other offerings were better, but what we had was not worth eating. We were in Zell Am See for a week, visiting a bakery every day. We went to Unterkofler first, but obviously never again, so that was over 50 Euro that they did not get from us. It’s possible that another person helping us, and different food choices, would have made a completely different impression. But based on our experience, I recommend avoiding Unterkofler and visiting other choices instead (e.g., Traube or Bauer were particularly delicious and friendly).

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TigersFan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unterkofler Backerei & Konditorei also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Unterkofler Backerei & Konditorei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing