We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Home
Kitchen-stocked Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Home
Kitchen-stocked
Dining area
Master Bedroom-queen
Double room
living room
two twins room
Gazebo/abandoned cabin
old mining buildings
John and Kay-your hosts
The dam near the propety
Entrance to the property
This was the caretaker's home in gold camp days
The original barn
The assay office from gold camp days
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abbie K
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, great location.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house was truly a home, thanks to its kind and thoughtful owner. Also, great access to the Black Hills (right out our front door), Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Monument, Mt. Rushmore and many other historic sites and natural wonders.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn1984
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It was like staying with my Grandmother, peaceful, homey and close to everything.”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

House was exactly as shown, grounds were beautiful and the dirt road is nothing to worry about. Traveling from Mt. Rushmore to Crazy Horse and Custer is a breeze. There were five of us and we had no issues with space. The surrounding land was peaceful, beautiful and interesting. Would stay there again in a heartbeat,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery around the home and the quiet at the end of the day.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, MN
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ironwood, MI
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kcreig
Duncannon, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Historical, Peaceful, Lovely Home”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to South Dakota, and I am so glad that we decided to stay at the Kiddville Ranch. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time. The home is centrally located to all of the attactions, but it was the seclusion that we like the most. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights, being from the East Coast, we stayed on our time (2 hours ahead). We were up by 4am CST and were able to see tons of wildlife at Kiddville in the early morning and early evening. Deer bedding down right by the gazebo! The property is essentially surrounded by the Black Hills National Forest. The first night, the owner, Kay called, to let us know that we might want to park in the garage, as a storm was blowing in. She told us that they were not calling for hail, but had the night before. We continued to utilize the garage the remainder of our stay, and it did hail once, and we were thankfully there was a place to park the rental vehicle. The home is exactly as pictured. Keep in mind that it an older home, so it is not perfect, but it was clean, has everything, pots and pans, laundry detergent, spices, utensils, ice, mustard, mayo, shampoo, soap, everything you could possibly forget while packing, is there. As noted before the location was great, close to pretty much everything, and only minutes away from Custer State Park. Very near Crazy Horse and only a little drive to Mt. Rushmore. All of the buildings on the property have sigificant historic value, including the home. In no way is this the Hotel Hilton, but I live on a farm in PA, and it I would have to say, this was my Home Away From Home. The owners have notes everywhere, so if you are looking for a hidden light switch, the note telling you where it is, is posted right on the wall. On the table in the living room is a notebook with the history of the place. I didn't have a chance to read the whole thing, I sort of just scanned through it, but if you have the time to read it, do so, on your first night. The information contained in it, give you ideas as to where to explore on the property. Kay also stopped by, but being we were 2 hours ahead, we were already asleep, when she stopped. I was so disappointed not to meet her, however since we enjoyed the property and the location so much, the chances are pretty good, that we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded Area Surrounded by Black Hill National Forest
Liked least: The wasn't anything that we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing