We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
A Definite Stop

With attractions such as Mt. Rushmore, Badlands & Wind Cave National Parks and the towns of... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Billwtz
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Beautiful!

We arrived at the last moment possible to join the Scenic Tour and, thankfully, were allowed to... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
SMGPeachtreeCity
,
Peachtree City
Read all 1 275 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Custer
from US$295,00
More Info
from US$149,00
More Info
from US$149,00
More Info
Reviews (1 275)
Filter reviews
1 275 results
Traveller rating
749
343
111
37
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
343
111
37
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic tour bacon longer tour ranger guide minute tour interesting formations bring a jacket wait hours great tour buy tickets down stairs light jacket long tour ticket booth tour tickets the junior ranger program the national park service
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1 275 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This is a well organized experience. The visitor center has a nice display area for getting acquainted with the size, scope and discovery of the cave system. The ranger led tour [only option] can be reserved ahead of time, it fills fast. Wear warm clothing as it is a constant 50 deg. It is a reasonably easy tour but with lots of stairs down then up then down, etc. to 300' below. Tour is approx. 3/10 mile and ends with elevator back to surface. The ranger really knew caves as he was a cave explorer on his personal time. The tour was informative with lots of tiny stalactites & mites, and other features. It is a little remote from Custer but not bad and is worth a try.

Thank Sunrunner45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPSParkRanger, Public Relations Manager at Jewel Cave National Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for the wonderful and informative review! We sincerely appreciate the feedback related to some of the logistics with the cave resource, ticket sales, clothing, stairs, etc. Your feedback will likely help future visitors have a great experience.

Best wishes for a fantastic summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

The cave was fascinating, though we only took the 20 minute intro your into the entry platform of the cave. The ranger that hosted the tumor was knowledgeable and pleasant. The facilities were clean and the displays adequate.

1  Thank Cathie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPSParkRanger, Public Relations Manager at Jewel Cave National Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for the online review through TripAdvisor. We always appreciate the feedback from park visitors, and it appears that you enjoyed the experience. We do hope you can come back someday to take the (longer) Scenic Tour or possibly the Historic Lantern Tour. If you are really adventurous, you may even want to consider the Wild Caving Tour.

Whatever the case, we hope you enjoyed the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota. Keep exploring the National Park Service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Make sure you get your tickets online early. We bought our 3 weeks in advance. What else to say other than awesome!

Thank Don I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPSParkRanger, Public Relations Manager at Jewel Cave National Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for the online review! We really appreciate the encouragement to use the online reservation system through Black Hills Vacations.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

It wasn't in our planned trip but we stopped anyway, amazing! We would do it again for one of the other tours.

Thank MichJerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPSParkRanger, Public Relations Manager at Jewel Cave National Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Awesome! We hope you do come back and enjoy another cave tour experience. Keep exploring the National Park Service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We learned a lot about caves here! My son earned his junior ranger badge. We learned a lot about bats as well.

Thank petwish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPSParkRanger, Public Relations Manager at Jewel Cave National Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

This is a fantastic review! Our staff LOVE to read feedback / comments about learning while on-site. You can be assured that we have passed along your comments to our team.

Best wishes with your future adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews