We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Accomodating”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Full Kitchen
Dining Area
Living Area
Living Area
3rd Bedroom (Queen Bed)
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melvina B
1 review
“Very Accomodating”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family of 7 and I stayed at Verna's 3 bedroom duplex. Verna was very easy to work with. There was plenty of space for everyone, using all three bedrooms and by using the pull out sofa. When we arrived in the evening Verna had dinner waiting to my surprise. She also stocked the unit with snacks and drinks which helped out tremendously. It is not located in the best neighborhood but we were safe with her security methods along with everyone was friendly that we encountered. The location was 10-15 mins from the French Quarter as described. There is a nearby Wal-Mart. This property is well kept inside and out...and a must see. I would highly recommend this place to everyone if you are looking for a nice spacious affordable stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Space and pricing
Liked least: neighborhood it was located in
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Melvina, Thanks for the great review. I am so glad that I was able to contribute to making your visit such a success. Thanks so much for choosing to stay at my home. Verna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workingin...
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Cost-Effective Family Home Base”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This rental is half of a duplex and ideal for a family seeking a home base where you’re out most of the day sightseeing and cocooning at night. The 3 bedrooms are fairly small, but worked well for our family of four with 2 teens who need a certain amount of neutral ground and their own space to retreat to when hostilities threaten from too much family togetherness. The owner lavished us with hospitality including enough food to get us through breakfast and dinner without shopping for the majority of our week-long stay. Community coffee? Check. Zapps potato chips. Check. Pralines? Check. Full blown crawfish and shrimp boil? Check! As a result we did very little cooking in the small kitchen other than to re-heat items. Be advised that there’s no dishwasher.

The location requires a car unless you are prepared to rely on (unreliable, in our experience) cabs. Public transportation downtown would take nearly an hour and multiple transfers. Depending on traffic, it was a relatively straightforward 10-20 minutes to the French Quarter. Do your parking lot research in advance, however, or you’ll get reamed by the high rates at the Premium Parking lots adjacent to the French Market. There’s off-street parking adjacent to the house which is located on a busy through street. Road noise, our first night when we didn’t have the air conditioner on, was enough to require us to use ear plugs. The house is in a very modest neighborhood without a yard so the downside was that we couldn’t sit outside and enjoy the nice spring weather in the evenings. There are no restaurants or a grocery within walking distance, but the up and coming Bywater neighborhood with multiple dining options less crazed than the French Quarter is just minutes from the house. We shopped at a CVS en route back from the French Quarter for milk one night and then at Rouse, just blocks from the WWII museum later in the week.

If evening touring, dining or walking in an historical urban enclave is essential to your New Orleans experience then this is not the place for you. If you’re a cost-conscious family or group hitting the high spots during the day and ready to put your feet up and relax with a book or the TV at night, then this is a good, less expensive and comfortable option.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having an entire house for the family and the owner's generous hospitality.
Liked least: Being on a busy street with no yard. The lack of nearby amenities.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. I am glad I was able to add to the enjoyment of your trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chowardjo...
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hospitality exceeds all”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A review would not express an accurate description without beginning with the extravagant hospitality provided by our hostess Verna. Upon arrival to the duplex, we were greeted by Verna with a clear explanation of the unit's features and considerable information regarding attractions/eating establishments in the area. To top all, Verna had stocked the fridge with food and soft drinks/bottled water for us saying she knew the teenagers would be hungry. We started our stay with local favorites like shrimp, crawdads, ribs, and chips. During our stay Verna checked on us several times to see if we needed anything. By the time we completed our stay, we felt like family.

The duplex is in a traditional neighborhood with some restored homes, some empty lots resulting from Katrina, and a few properties still under repair. To be accurate, if you are looking for a modern style setting, this would not be your choice. If you want to experience what life is like in New Orleans in a clean three bedroom unit, this is a great choice. I was vacationing with my adult son, and three teenage grandkids. I felt safe and the location allowed reasonable access to local attractions. Combining all factors of price, three bedrooms, location and hospitality, I would certainly recommend you consider staying at Verna's duplex.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Thanks so much for the fabulous review. I am so happy that I was able to host your family during your vacation to our wonderful city. It was a pleasure to host you and look forward to hosting you again on any of your future trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abygayl32
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The homeowners were extremely kind and professional. The location is perfect and within minutes of everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. You were great guests, and I enjoyed hosting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing