We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried oysters were good”
Review of Luke

Luke
Reserve with OpenTable
Luke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 2 093 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Poydras
Transit: St. Charles Street Car Line
Description: Luke New Orleans is Besh's homage to the grand old Franco-German brasseries that once reigned in New Orleans. Luke offers an extensive French, German, and Belgian beer selection, including three exclusive house brews [custom-made in Louisiana]. The cuisine is unaffectedly Old World, using slow and traditional cooking techniques. The wine list features reds and whites from the Loire, Alsace, and Savoie regions, as well as Badischerwiens of Germany. Since opening in 2007, Luke has been hailed by Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure, and The Times-Picayune Lagniappe, which awarded Luke an impressive three bean-ranking for its "disarmingly home-spun culinary touches and broad-shouldered dishes that satisfy something more than just an appetit."
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My wife and I went to Luke for lunch. Very nice atmosphere and away from crowd in French Quarter. We ordered the salad with fried oysters to share and then my wife ordered the daily fish special and I ordered the daily Jambalaya special. Even though we live on the Gulf, we had not heard of the daily fish but the waiter said it was like red snapper which is the best. The salad with fried oysters was excellent. Unfortunately the main courses not. The fish was nothing like red snapper and was hard - more like a grouper and not very tasty. The daily special jambalaya was also very disappointing. Rice and not much else, including not much flavor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fedup2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon W, Manager at Luke, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We are so sorry that your experience at Luke was not up to our standards. We would really like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Could you please email our General Manager, Lizzie Montero, at emontero@lukeneworleans.com with the date that you dined with us? Please also provide any other pertinent information that you feel will be helpful. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 2 293 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

My husband and I ate here during our recent trip to New Orleans. We loved the restaurant, the service and the food was wonderful! The shrimp and grits were very good! The table of six beside us all ordered hamburgers and they looked amazing! I really wanted to try a burger too! ☺ Wonderful Meal and experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendyr1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon W, Manager at Luke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Wendy, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Luke! We will be sure to send your regards to all of our staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We went as a couple and enjoyed many items on the menu that were recommended by our server, Kevin. The burger was out of this world. Far exceeded our expectations of a burger in New Orleans. Possibly the best burger we’ve ever had anywhere. The crawfish appetizer had incredible flavor as well. I highly recommend this place and I highly recommend asking for Kevin and letting him help you decide what to have.

Thank Abbey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon W, Manager at Luke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Abbey, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Luke! We will be sure to send your regards to all of our staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Soup and salad very good, entrees not so special at all. It was so noisy that the waiter didn't hear my dessert order so I watched my husband eat his. The waiter apologised and comped my husband's dessert. It was so crowded and noisy that it wasn't an enjoyable occasion.

Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon W, Manager at Luke, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Elizabeth,
We are so sorry that your experience at Luke was not up to our standards. We would really like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Could you please email our General Manager, Lizzie Montero, at emontero@lukeneworleans.com with the date that you dined with us? Please also provide any other pertinent information that you feel will be helpful. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

One of my all-time NOLA favorites--always open every day until 10 or 11 PM and always good. Very wide selection of foods and always good. Great preparation and presentation. Friendly, fast and courteous service. Reasonably priced. The perfect all occasion NOLA dining experience.

Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon W, Manager at Luke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Gary, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Luke! We will be sure to send your regards to all of our staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luke also viewed

 

Been to Luke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing