We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great hospitality + ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
398 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 398 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
outofmylm...
los angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hospitality + ideal location”
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

my girlfriend and i recently stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. as this was my first time visiting the big easy, john was of great help prior to our arrival with what to expect from the b&b and the city in general.

the house is quite the beautiful property - classic in style and touch yet with a modern bent to accommodate discerning travelers. we had the deluxe queen room upstairs, which comes complete with bathroom amenities, TV w/DVD player and iPhone charger/docking station, which thankfully rendered my charger useless!

each morning we enjoyed a different, exciting breakfast - including chocolate hazelnut french toast! - and it was nice to get to know john (he's a fantastic cook!) and the other guests in a friendly and relaxed environment.

last but not least, it's impossible to beat the location. situated on a quiet block on bourbon street at the end of the french quarter, it's literally three blocks away from frenchman street, where we had an amazing time at a couple of the jazz clubs. since we didn't have a car, this was a godsend as we could get to wherever we wanted by foot or by streetcar. it's also about a 1/2 mile from lil dizzy's café for great soul food and just about 2 miles away from the beautiful city park.

all in all, i can't recommend la maison marigny more highly...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed La Maison Marigny and its superior location. Frenchmen Street (2 blocks away) and the clubs of Bourbon Street (5 blocks away) definitely keep folks coming back for more. And who can neglect to mention all of the wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of the B&B?

Please visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbarryChi...
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One Mo Time....La Maison Marigny is the BEST!!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our 3rd consecutive year of staying at Masion Marigny for Mardi Gras. We had the Owner's suite each time, and it continues to be our favorite. It is our 2nd home and always feels great to come back. We are locals and can tell you, it doesn't get any better than this.

New this year is the kitchen and what a wonderful addition to this B&B. John, as usual, welcomed us and made us feel at home the whole time. Not to mention his upgraded breakfast menu. WOW!!!! The Royal treatment!!!!

Do not miss this B&B, a very special place.
Jim & Jack

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2012
One mo time...you are delightful guests and we're so pleased that you choose to stay with us every year for Carnival. What fun! And your AMAZING costumes were the talk of all the other guests. See you in 2013, if not before!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojoDorse...
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Arrive as strangers, leave as friends”
Reviewed 23 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We couldn't have been happier to spend the first 5 days of our recent NOLA/Louisiana holiday at La Maison Marigny - what a great find. We had the Owners' Suite downstairs, which has a sweet sitting-room and extremely comfortable bed - we slept really well every night.

John's a delightful host - interesting and interested, full of ideas on having a good idea in the city and whisking up relaxed, delicious breakfasts. We actually very much enjoyed the fact breakfasts were informal and friendly - and John's flexibility mean you can take breakfast between 8.30 and 10, allowing for differences between the guests.

All of this is more than good enough - but if you add in the location, things get even better. As so many people have said - you're staying in a pretty, quiet and elegant neighbourhood but just 5 minutes very pleasant walk into the French Quarter. And in the other direction it's only 5 minutes easy stroll to Frenchmen Street - our very favourite bit of New Orleans. With its fabulous, friendly and informal little jazz clubs and its great, unpretentious restaurants, it's a truly fantastic place to hang out and see the Real New Orleans. And it couldn't feel safer - we walked home late every evening feeling entirely comfortable and at ease.

In all La Maison Marigny - and John's hospitality - are highly, highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2012
Thanks so much for your review of our property. I am thrilled that your trip to the U.S. was spent with us and in New Orleans! We get many international guests and it's always interesting for me and for other guests to chat with folks from all over the world during our breakfast service. We've been told often that this interaction is one of guests' favorite memories of the trip.

Glad you enjoyed Frenchmen Street, too. As I told you, Frenchmen is a huge draw and we're just two quick blocks away from the music!

Please come back to New Orleans soon...we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mspms100
Lombard, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Kind”
Reviewed 20 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

La Maison is in a great location. Far enough from the craziness but safe enough to walk the distance. John was a great host and his breakfasts were very good. The others that stayed there with us also made great conversation during the breakfast hours. We stayed in the queen balcony and it was very comfortable. The water took a very long time to get warm and there was some minor maintenance that was needed in areas of the room but all in all it was comfortable. The bed was not the most comfortable that I have been in. Very soft and seemed to dip so it was difficult to sleep. The room had the lived in feeling and home feeling, not perfect but good. We were told that the maid would come in daily, I don't think that happened. The second day, out bed was not made and throughout the 4 days there were times glasses were not taken from the room and garbage was still left in the trash. Again, by no means made the night poor but just some info. The B&B was about .5 miles from bourbon but closer to the market and Frenchman street. I am glad we stayed there and would suggest others to do so also.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2012
Thanks so much for your review. I apologize for times when the housekeeping service didn't seem up to par. It would have been preferable to know about this during your stay so it could have been corrected immediately! I am honestly unsure as to what happened as our housekeepers were on-site every day during your stay. One note: if the "do not disturb" sign is on the door, they are not allowed to enter the room. (Again, I don't know if this was the case or not but it is a possible explanation).

We did check out the bed in the guest room in question and I agree that it's not up to our standards any longer. We ordered a replacement mattress/boxspring today and took the opportunity to tighten loose screws in the bedframe to prevent any squeaks.

Also, we tested the hot water in the room and it worked rather quickly for us. If you are the first guest to use it on a cold morning, it may take a few minutes. The B&B has a new tankless water system and it heats the water very well, up to 130 degrees fahrenheit. In fact, there's no chance that the hot water will ever run out, even when all four rooms are showering at once!

Again, thanks so much for staying at the best little B&B on Bourbon Street! We're constantly upgrading the house and after our successful 2011 renovation of the kitchen, we're turning our attention back to guest rooms and the courtyard in 2012! Please come see us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzdon
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfort + Location = Wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This is a long over-due review. We stayed here in March 2011, and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. First of all, the location was perfect. In walking distance to Frenchman Street (where we heard some fantastic music) and the French Quarter. It's located close enough to walk to the hustle and bustle of the Quarter, but far enough that you aren't in the thick of things. It was indeed like staying at someone's home. Very relaxing. Being able to park right in front was a big plus. I see from the pictures that there was a major kitchen renovation - John mentioned that was going to happen last year. It looks great!

We stayed in the middle bedroom upstairs. It was decorated nicely, and certainly more than adequate. As mentioned in a few other reviews the bathroom was a tad small, but wasn't that big of a deal for us. Though not elaborate, the breakfast was certainly sufficient to get us going in the morning. All in all, I would certainly recommend a stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2012
Thanks so much for your review! We agree that the new kitchen is fab...guests are really enjoying it! And with the new kitchen came a new and upgraded breakfast menu, with dishes like spicy sausage quiche, chocolate hazelnut stuffed French toast, bacon hash brown bake, various types of waffles and pancakes with sausages and fruit, blueberry and cream cheese French toast and more!

Come see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing