We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other traveller has booked this property
Welcome to Casa Bonita! Take a moment to relax in your private oasis in the heart of Playa El Tunco
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Casa Bonita! Take a moment to relax in your private oasis in the heart of Playa El Tunco
The open living space with woven frond roof provides a natural indoor/outdoor feel to your vacation The Master Suite, outfitted with Queen Bed, Egyptian cotton sheets, local art and air-conditioning
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Welcome to Casa Bonita! Take a moment to relax in your private oasis in the heart of Playa El Tunco
The open living space with woven frond roof provides a natural indoor/outdoor feel to your vacation
The Master Suite, outfitted with Queen Bed, Egyptian cotton sheets, local art and air-conditioning
Casa Bonita's second bedroom features custom pillows, shades, hardwood floor, and air-conditioning
Fruit breakfast with coffee is included in your stay, while fruit from our orchard is free in-season
Enjoy the beautiful pacific sunsets from the third floor terrace, or take a short walk to the beach!
The private pool amidst coconut, mango and banana trees sets a private oasis in the heart of El Tunc
A panoramic view of the pool, patio, and deck illustrates the comfort and privacy of your stay
Take some sun in our locally made lounge chairs before cooling off in your private pool!
Enjoy the fruits of your labor in this private, open-air kitchen, with views to the pool and garden
Enjoy an afternoon snack with coffee, 60 cents for two banana breads from the local women next door
Our new handmade breakfast bar, the perfect place to enjoy hand-pressed juice from the local market
Fully stocked kitchen allows guests to prepare and enjoy fresh-caught fish from La Libertad market
A final view of the kitchen and dining space, with wood floors and local art flowing throughout
Covered walkways featuring hand-carved totems exude authentic Salvadorian vibrations throughout
Hammock and locally-made rocking chair offer a relaxing pool view in the comfort of the river breeze
A second look at the master bedroom, with custom curtains, high-quality sheets, and beautiful views
A pulled back view of the master suite showcases the style and comfort of Casa Bonita's main bedroom
Acrylic piece 'Sunzal' by local artist Ave Fenix, another view of paradise for the master bathroom
The en-suite master bathroom: luxury amenities to ensure your vacation is as relaxing as possibl
High-quality sheets, handmade furniture and authentic Salvadorian artwork ensure a relaxing night
Facing out in the second bedroom. Private bathroom and shower included for each room at Casa Bonita.
Surf boards, lessons, and tours, along with waterfall, Mayan ruins, and Volcano available here!
A 2-Car, covered garage offers safe, convenient and free parking. Surfboards available for rent.
Early morning surf check of 'La Bocana,' a rivermouth A-frame 200 yards from the front door!
A beautiful morning sunrise over the iconic 'Tunco' rock. The perfect way to start each morning!
Scenic overlook of San Salvador from Boqueron volcano. Tours available with our licensed tourguide!
Stone exterior and security doors provide personal peace of mind inside the gated El Tunco community
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
El Sunzal, La Libertad Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom W
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Incredible trip! I stayed for 7 nights with my father and I couldn't have imagined a more perfect place to stay than Casa Bonita. The house is close enough to be a few seconds walk from town but secluded enough to truly feel like a private oasis. Laura and Avion are amazing and I wouldn't change a single thing about the trip. Make sure to check out the cascadas and the volcano they're both breathtaking. Bo took care of everything and it really felt like home, I'll be back 100%!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded pool and outdoor lounge area
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karsten T
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed oasis”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a really delightful two night stay at Casa Bonito. Bo was a stellar host with good local recommendations and make sure the accommodations were clean and even that we had a fresh papaya ready and sliced up our second morning.

The design of the space is relaxing and open. The property is very secure with high walls and a video view of anyone who rings the doorbell, but the way things are arranged inside it feels more like a oasis than a compound. Lots of tress and a living room with a high thatched roof that's a perfect space to relax and read. Bedrooms are cozy and well climate controlled.

Within easy walking distance of everything in El Tunco. Highly recommended.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niks111
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic vacation and a beautiful house”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We LOVED Casa Bonita and had a wonderful totally perfect vacation there. We stayed for 10 amazing nights! Seriously cannot say enough good stuff about this stay and about El Tunco, and we are already trying to figure out when we can make it to Casa Bonita next. I've traveled in Central America and Mexico before and I think this trip was the best. The place itself is huge and seriously beautiful, the pool is lovely to swim in and hang out next to (lots of shade). This is particularly good because El Tunco isn't really the kind of beach you sit on all day (beautiful but rocky with big waves), so having such a nice and private outdoor space at Casa Bonita was perfect. The outdoor kitchen is lovely and the A/C in the bedroom is great and makes for very comfortable sleeping. The house is within El Tunco's walls but down a quiet street which is nice because the town can get noisy on weekend nights. It is a tiny and awesome beach town, so being down a quiet street is still only a 2-minute walk from the main streets. The town itself is great, very social, and very safe with good cheap drinks and food- we met a lot of people while we were there and had a great time.

We also had the chance to meet and hang out with Bo who was in El Tunco that week, he's great, and the house manager Laura is very accommodating. They worked with us even when our flight was one day late (do not fly Spirit).

We also did a lot with Karlos, the local tour guide and surf instructor who is available for as much touring / surfing as you want. His prices were reasonable and he's also just a great guy to spend time with - he's extremely enthusiastic about El Salvador! Plus a really fantastic surf instructor and definitely worth the extra money (apparently he charges a little more than other instructors in town). The day trips, particularly the volcano / lake trip, are a must. And I also highly recommend the Balance yoga studio.

I could go on. Just a truly beautiful and unforgettable trip, don't hesitate to visit!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanya...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil beauty”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Casa Bonita was exactly what I needed and so much more than I expected! This beautiful sanctuary is tucked just a bit off the main strip along a river. It's very close to everything while offering an experience of privacy. The open property is full of gorgeous structures and little touches, from local art, rich wood and a warm, kind staff. The pool is wonderful, so pretty and totally refreshing! Which is certainly great with the heat of Tunco. I loved my time there so much, both Laura (the house manager) and Avion (the tour guide) added so much to my stay. There is a special place in my heart for El Salvador and Casa Bonita. I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$95
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing