We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Wisconsin State Capitol
from US$12,31
More Info
from US$85,00
More Info
Reviews (2 019)
Filter reviews
2 019 results
Traveller rating
1 580
382
41
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 580
382
41
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation deck beautiful building state capitol free tour supreme court conference room guided tour christmas tree information desk beautiful capital capitol square marble rotunda architecture wisconsin governor lakes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2 019 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2021

We were surprised to find the building open. So nice to be able to go in and see how lovely the place is. Be aware that not all the doors may be open.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank norskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

We are on a 70-day road trip. This is the 10th capitol building we have seen in 42 days. Arriving just before the 1:00 pm scheduled tour, we were met by the tour hostess who clued us in on seeing a part of the capitol that would not be on the tour. It was actually outside the building on the circular walkway around the outside of the dome, with a great view of the city. The building itself is one of the prettiest we have seen in our travels, thanks in part to its recent renovations. Whether you are from Wisconsin, or from Florida (as we are) the history of the capitol building and a small taste of the history of Madison will enlighten you to the richness of this state and in the making of our nation.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank karenbB1258DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Everyone was so friendly and suggested new view options that we hadn’t seen before.
Great panoramic views of Madison and the beautiful lakes from the outdoor upper deck. Worth the stop!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank karencX4702RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2021

I was headed through Madison on the way to my overnight stay and came upon the Capitol Building. It was a Saturday night, so traffic wasn't too bad. There were parking spaces right up by the Capitol, so I pulled in and walked up to it to check it out.

It's a beautiful building. Being a Saturday in May, there were at least 100 Prom couples about getting pictures taken. I walked around the building and took some photos before heading back to the car and to the hotel. It was a really nice stop.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2021

Beautiful State Capitol to See !! We like traveling through the country, and we always stop by any city and visit / and or see the wonderful architecture of these wonderful buildings. This one did not disappoint.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank DannyWasserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews